HIS Eye is on the Bluebird, the Osprey, Me, You, and……

Every day, I drive over a long bridge which spans a wide and beautiful river.  Along the river banks, special structures for eagles and osprey have been erected.  I can’t see the activity in those very well unless I pull over and pull out binoculars. 

Some of the trees, right at driving level, contain nests of various birds.  Sprouting out over the trees are several cell phone towers.  Ospreys have elected to use these for their nests.  I can see these very well as I drive past.  It was with much interest, in the early spring, I observed nesting couples and then later, amazingly enough nestlings.  It was amazing because they were so close, you could see Mr. and Mrs. Osprey feeding their babies or swooping down to the river to catch fish and then fly over and drop into the nest.  The nestlings could be observed fighting each other for food and generally, being competitive siblings. 

Mid-summer, we had a day of shear winds, tornado activity, golf ball sized hail, torrential rain.  All over the city, trees were down crushing cars and houses.  Power was out all over the city.  For a change, we didn’t lose our power.  We had trees down in the yard but nothing crushed.  The big thing to me was the crushing of one of my bluebird houses.   After the storm, I frantically pushed branches away and found that Mr. and Mrs. Slim, who have been building nests and raising families for seven years, while dazed and confused, were safe.  Mrs. Slim was huddled under a group of branches with the two nestlings and Mr. Slim was under another group of branches.  I cried with relief and gently took one after the other, to place in an unoccupid bluebird house.  They were cushioned on a hollowed out bed of pine needles, lint, and moss I had hastily arranged for them. A couple of hours later, I observed Mr. Slim putting food in the birdhouse entry for Mrs. Slim and the kids. 

The next day, on the way to work, thinking of my how my little friends had had their original home destroyed and how close they came to being crushed, I was fearful of going over the bridge and not seeing osprey nests.  I just knew the nests would be obliterated.  The west end of town was hit much harder than the south side of town. 

I should know better than to worry, but as I am a control freak, I just have to take back some stuff and worry about it.  Yes, I know God can take care of things much better, but I just have to poke my little pug nose into things, grab things with my too small paws, and take control by worrying. 

As I crossed the bridge, I looked up.  And grinned.  The osprey nest was in not only good condition, but the family was going about its feeding and eating rituals.  I saw Pop swoop towards the river and Mom with her wings over the kids and getting them preened for breakfast.  They were safe.  Of course.  I had prayed the night before because they were in such a tenuous position.  But then again, they were in the hands of God and you can’t be safer than that. 

I remembered back to when I was diagnosed with cancer several years ago.  I am in my fourth year of being cancer free.  Not only did my PA (physician’s assistant) find the cancer, he had the knowledge and wisdom to send me to the oncologist that the local doctors send their wives too.  Not only did I have an amazing oncologist, when he went into the area to remove the cancerous growths and lymph nodes, the Greatest Physician had already been there and removed the worst and largest parts of the cancer.  My oncologist was amazed that what had been seen on scans, biopsies and other reports, was totally different from he found when he went inside me.  When I came out of surgery, my husband gave me the report.  I was not surprised.  Joyful, yes.  Surprised no.  A couple of months earlier, I had taught a Sunday school lesson on acceptance and trust.  The lesson was in Jeremiah 29.  The people of Jerusalem were captive and in exile but God promised them, that in His perfect time, he would deliver them and take them back to their homes.  If they sought Him, He would find them.  He had plans for them that would be to their good. 

I felt that I was in exile, captured by a disease and by fear.  However, I remembered the lesson that God would deliver me…no matter how it turned out, I would be fine.  I opened my heart to Him and sought Him.  He came just for me to keep me from harm, He never left my side.  Just as He watches over the bluebirds, osprey, me…… and you! 

Jeremiah 29:10-14 This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place. 11 for I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plan to prosper you and not to harm you, plan to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me, come, and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

