Strawberries Romanov – for Lily

Strawberries Romanoff

 

If Japanese Purin is a fairy princess of a dessert, Strawberries Romanov is the Fairy Empress.   There are a ton of recipes out there and variations.  I am going to give you the recipe I was given at a small café in St. Petersburg – in the dead of winter!  So you know those strawberries were not just picked and were shipped from wherever.  The recipe still wowed me and made my mouth intensely happy.  Although the recipe is best with just picked summer warm strawberries, this recipe is forgiving of mystery strawberries.  

Some variants mix the berries with cream and softened vanilla ice cream, others put the cream mixture over the berries, others layer like a parfait.  I like this version best, not only because the chef at the café came so very kindly came to the table and took me back into the kitchen with him (he had no English) and showed me how he did it, but I like it best because it is just so danged good.  Yowzer  y’all! 

Legend has it this recipe was created by the chef of Czar Nicholas.  Thankfully, the recipe lasted longer than the sad Romanov family.

 

Strawberries Romanov 

1/2 cup sour cream

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon brandy or 1 tablespoon vanilla or orange liqueur (such as Cointreau or Grand Marnier)

1/2 cup heavy cream

3 tablespoons sugar

4 cups fresh strawberries, halved or quartered, macerated in

½ c. orange liqueur,  in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. 

Mix sour cream, brown sugar and brandy/liqueur in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, whip cream until starts to thicken and add sugar–whip until thick.   Fold into sour cream mixture.  Serve in individual dishes over berries.   You may want to taste test berries before serving in case you want to add some sugar.  Makes 8 servings.  A few gratings of dark chocolate are a nice touch to garnish.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Cream-Filled Strawberries Recipe | WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE
  2. lly1205
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 14:43:36

    Yay! I just got more strawberries, so now I can make this 😀

    Lily

    Reply

  3. kanzensakura
    May 22, 2015 @ 22:23:12

    Reblogged this on kanzen sakura and commented:

    Strawberry time…enjoy. and you don’t have to go to Russia to get this heavenly delight.

    Reply

  4. Mustang.Koji
    May 22, 2015 @ 22:55:31

    Wow, how interesting… Sour cream? I never would have thought that! And it was fascinating how you used “purin”, which is プリン in Japanese characters. I could never understand how the Japanese term evolved since it is based upon English or French.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 22, 2015 @ 23:08:00

      I read the history but can’t remember. I like the Purin better..more delicate, not as sweet. The Russians use sour cream in everhthing I think. The sour cream helps thicken the regular cream and adds an interesting layer.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  5. el34ax7
    May 23, 2015 @ 00:00:39

    er mer gerd. I want this!

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 23, 2015 @ 09:28:32

    Yum. Can’t wait till strawberry season. ❤

    Reply

  7. Hannah Gosselin
    May 23, 2015 @ 09:32:41

    Oh goodness!!! SO savory…winner-winner!!

    Reply

    • Hannah Gosselin
      May 23, 2015 @ 09:33:11

      And I love the story of how you attained this recipe…really special! ♥

      Reply

      • kanzensakura
        May 23, 2015 @ 12:39:36

        It was special. The server, only one in the place, was pleased I was so happy with the dish and when he found out “chef” added to American, he brought the owner/chef out. The chef was a thin, intense man and when he saw me pointing to my wiped clean dessert plate and the huge question on my face, he took me back to the small and extremely clean/efficient kitchen and showed me, having me taste and smell at every step. He then packed another along with bean soup and black bread, butter, and sliced radishes to take back to the hotel and refused money. I went back the next day for lunch and gave him a pair of my jeans for his daughter. I knew he could sell them and get a nice sum for them. So my Romanov is Russian in tne manner handed down as served to the Romanovs at the Hermitage. The chef was a true gentleman whose great grandfather had been a young servant in the palace.

        Reply

  8. joannesisco
    May 26, 2015 @ 07:35:14

    This sounds so delicious and wonderfully easy.

    Every recipe of yours I’ve tried has turned out beautifully so I’m going to be happy to test drive this one … when our local strawberries are ready 🙂

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

