Super Sweet Blogger Award – Part Two – Sugar Pie – Southern Recipe

brown sugar pie

We Southerners love our sweets!  Give us something with sugar and we become rather docile – sweet tea, lemon meringue pie, nanner puddin’, Sugar Pie…  Southern Sugar Pie is not to be confused with Canadian Sugar Pie.  Both are for folks who have a seriously demented sweet tooth, both have similar methods and outcomes, but the ingredients are different.  Southern Sugar Pie is basically pecan pie without the pecans.  The filling is soft, custardy, and exploding with rich brown sugar goodness.   

My great-grandmother, Mammy, called this by her own special name:  Sugar Puddin’.  She made sure we knew that the pie was not always predictable in its outcome.  As she baked hers in a woodstove, that would be an understatement.  However, in these degenerate modern times, electric and gas ovens bake the pie as unpredictably.  It may be runny, it may set up perfectly, it may have little pockmarks on the surface from the boiling sugar, or it may be perfectly smooth. 

No matter how it looks, the pie is obscenely good.  If you want to just totally wreak havoc on your senses, serve with a dollop of rich homemade whipped cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream. 

Brown Sugar Pie

3 cups brown sugar
1 tablespoon flour (all purpose)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup margarine/butter, melted and slightly cooled
3 eggs, beaten well
2 tsp. real vanilla extract
1 cup milk
2 regular 9-inch pie crusts or 1 deep-dish pie crust

Prepare the pie crusts per package instructions, or make up your own favorite dough.  I use the “boughten” ones from the store and they work just fine.  In a large bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour, and salt. Use a fork to break up any clumps of brown sugar.  In a smaller bowl, mix together the melted margarine/butter, beaten eggs, vanilla, and milk; beat well. Add this wet mixture to the brown sugar mixture and blend very well with a hand mixer. Pour into the pie crust(s) and bake at 350F for about 30 minutes for a regular crust, 60-70 minutes for a deep-dish crust, or until set (a tad bit wobbly) in the middle. Cool completely before slicing and serving. 

**SPECIAL NOTE**

Sugar Pie is also a frequent pet name for someone.  I was “Sugar Pie” in my family.  Southerners will also pick up babies or small children and tell them to “gimme some sugar” meaning, give me a kiss or a smooch or a cuddle.  Old ladies, with the privilege of age, (and I personally think just for pure meanness), will embarrass a grown son or nephew, or a teenaged grandboy by making that same request.  The favorite time to do this is when they are meeting the girlfriend of the male for the first time.  I will also refer you to a wonderful “old school” song from 1965 by the Four Tops – “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch).   Enjoy the pie and the song! 

http://youtu.be/qXavZYeXEc0 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Long Life Cats and Dogs
    May 20, 2013 @ 17:05:19

    I’m sure hubby would really like this one. Me, not such a sweet tooth. I love pecan nut pie but the more nuts and less sweetness, the better in my eyes. I’d be happy with pastry filled with nuts and not much else 🙂

    Reply

  2. Clowie
    May 21, 2013 @ 04:18:06

    That sounds delicious!

    Reply

  3. Missy@dawsondogs
    May 21, 2013 @ 11:14:17

    Wow! Sugar Pie. Could it be any better. Mom and Dad went south to see my boy off to the US Army. When they were there they fell in love with southern sweet tea. Mom said she would go back just for the sweet tea. They just can’t make it the same in the West.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 21, 2013 @ 11:52:44

      Hi Missy! Glad to have you following my blog. I hope you visit me alot. I always love my four legged friends to visit any time. If your mom and dad asked me, I might be persuaded to tell them how I make my sweet tea – my papa showed me how when I was just a little one. And your boy is in the Army! I know you will miss him, but he is doing such a wonderful thing and I thank him for doing it. Please let him know for me. You take care. Wish I could give you a big ol’ southern hug and belly rub.

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

