Starfleet Academy vs. VA Tech

Huh????   Those of you who aren’t into BBT, SciFi, fantasy, anime, manga, comics, all things geek, just please bear with me here.

This all came about because of a Big Bang Theory episode.  Sheldon’s parting shot to Leonard’s girlfriend after an argument was:  “You may have gone to Cambridge, but I went to Starfleet Academy”.  My husband states, “There is no such thing”.  At which point, I came out of my Kindle fog and told him, oh yes there is and I’ve taken courses there.

“Well, they can’t have anything to do with the real world”.  Fighting words.  Real world?  REAL WORLD??  Excuse me, but Star Trek is the real world.  I told him the courses I took have certainly done me more good in the “real” world than his BS in Theatre Arts.  I mean, how often do you use “How to stage Medea’?  He stammered and stuttered and said,”I learned lighting and wiring”.   My left eyebrow raised several inches as I sardonically sneered at him.

“So, why did I have to install the dimmer switches, the motion sensor lights at the ends of the house, and the ceiling fans throughout the house?”  No answer.  Silence from the Hokie Alumnus.  “I learned such things in the Science & Technology (Physical sciences,  technology and engineering) degree I earned from Starfleet Academy.

“I know several physicists and engineers who work(ed) on the CERN Accelerator.  How many actors, actresses, and plywrights do you know?”  Still silence from the Hokie Alumnus.

He would not admit defeat, but he did admit I had a point.  I reminded him I had several points.  I then told him “Good night” – in Klingon – Maj rahm, yIQongchu’!   Dujeychugh jagh nIv yItuHQo’!  “There is nothing shameful in falling before a superior enemy”.

He was not amused.  I just held my 4’10” self as tall as possible and bowed to him.  “haisya”.  He growled,”now I’m getting stabbed in Japanese”.  I smiled and went to bed.  BAZINGA!!  Bit I turned to him with these last words: ” And that is why I have Commander pips on my Star Trek uniforms and you have a ragged VA Tech tee shirt.”

Starfleet Academy 10   VA Tech Zilch.

The official logo of Starfleet Academy, circa ...

The official logo of Starfleet Academy, circa 2375. The Roman numerals refer to its founding year of 2161. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clowie
    May 24, 2013 @ 10:00:33

    You can learn everything you need to know about life from watching Star Trek!

    Reply

  2. Bernice
    May 24, 2013 @ 15:37:51

    Star Trek is awesome and there is nothing greater than Star Trek!

    Reply

  3. Bob Lee
    May 25, 2013 @ 09:34:08

    I must agree with you guys – although … (slap me for this 🙂 Big Bang Theory has replaced the scarce comedy in Star Trek (and I am a Trek lover …)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 25, 2013 @ 09:44:04

      Oh Bob, I’d never slap you! I agree totally. I often look at Sheldon as Spock (genius but clueless) and how the various members make fun of him or nonplus him. The jibes thrown at him just make me guffaw. His twitches when he can’t come up with an answer are also sources of extreme humor. The members of BBT are dear to my heart. I often identify with Leonard. The tiffs between Penny (communications office Uhuru but communicates in a different way) and Sheldon has been the source of many times of amusement. And “Soft Kitty”? Oh my, don’t even get me going on that one. The World of BBT many times has reminded me of parts of the original Star Trek, but with slaptick humor added. I am glad that someone else has noticed this besides myself. I have a feeling there are more of us out there. > Date: Sat, 25 May 2013 13:34:09 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

      • Bob Lee
        May 25, 2013 @ 09:51:49

        🙂 I do believe you’re right with the feeling that there are more of us our there. Just so nice to find the humor and connections with others of a tender heart. And the “Soft Kitty” … you had me laughing out loud with just the mention of it.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 25, 2013 @ 10:13:26

          My mom wasn’t feeling well (she’s rather frail at this point) and was lying down. She looked up at me and said, sing Soft Kitty. So I did. And be doggone, if the next night, a re-reun aired with Penny singing it to Sheldon. We both of us almost fell out of our chairs. I think BBT has the same impact on as Star Trek. Ain’t it just too much fun??? > Date: Sat, 25 May 2013 13:51:52 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

          Reply

  4. Trackback: More on Star Trek and Beautiful Fountains « Realistic Cooking Ideas for Busy People

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

