Papa’s Peach Cobbler

Peach Cobbler

Among his many talents, my papa was also an excellent Southern cook.  Much of my cooking I learned at an early age, standing on a chair by his side while he cooked.  Or I would sit on the table while he mixed up cakes, tater salad, grated sweet potato pudding, cornbread….helped him slice, dice, shred.  Nowadays people are rather shy about teaching their kids “sharp” skills.  Let me tell you, the first time I scraped my knuckles on a grater, I learned quickly not to do that again.  Of course, papa cleaned the scrapes, kissed my little paw, and plastered me with bandaids.

One of the things he taught me was his Peach Cobbler.  Oh my goodness what a yummy eat.  Hot, cold, “wiz or wizout” vanilla ice cream or a dollop of freshly whipped heavy cream, that cobbler was amazing.  He’d take three to church suppers and the pans would come back virtually licked clean. 

He also would make it with frozen peaches from the summer harvest or drained canned peaches.  Cherries, blueberries and sometimes pineapple chunks would be in the cobbler.  But the Queen of the Cobblers was his peach.  I hope you like it!  It is happy food.

Papa’s Peach Cobbler

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 ½  cups sugar, divided

1 tablespoon baking powder

Pinch of salt

1 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

6  cups fresh peach slices

1 tablespoon lemon juice

¼ tsp ground mace

¼ tsp. ground ginger

Ground cinnamon 

Melt butter in a 13- x 9-inch baking dish.  Combine flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt; add milk, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Pour batter over butter (do not stir).

Bring remaining 1/2 cup sugar, peach slices, spices, and lemon juice to a boil over high heat, stirring constantly; spoon over batter (do not stir).

Bake at 375° for 40 to 45 minutes or until golden brown. Serve cobbler warm or cool

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalyrical
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 13:22:41

    Ah! This looks amazing!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 18, 2013 @ 13:59:06

      and easy……good to munch on at room temp while gaming as well.

      Reply

      • kalyrical
        Jun 18, 2013 @ 14:08:13

        Beyond sold.

        Reply

      • Beni
        Jun 27, 2013 @ 00:11:34

        “While gaming as well.” I can hardly believe I read that. And I thought I was the only one who eats while shooting zombies. (I do not eat zombies, by the way.) I am also proud to say that I have had the privilege of enjoying this cobbler.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 27, 2013 @ 07:40:37

          There are several of us out there – in fact, there is a Big Bang episode where the guys get together supplies for a 48 hour online gaming marathon. And there is the most excellent Hardison of the now defunct Leverage and his refrigerator full of 2 liter bottles of orange soda.

          But I am proud you enjoyed Papa’s cobbler. It would make him smile and to make you your very own cobbler.

          > Date: Thu, 27 Jun 2013 04:11:35 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

          Reply

  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 18:41:54

    Yum!

    Reply

  3. Bernice
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 21:27:09

    Looks delish!!!

    Reply

  4. el34ax7
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 20:27:34

    I don’t even like peaches but I want this in my mouf! 😀

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 20, 2013 @ 07:53:28

      You can use tart cherries or blueberries. I don’t know if you have Southern peaches, but they are the most amazing juicy sweet slobbery thing you’ll ever put in your mouth. You need ripe peaches with fragrance for this. I hope you will try it.

      > Date: Thu, 20 Jun 2013 00:27:37 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

      • el34ax7
        Jun 20, 2013 @ 10:29:45

        I’ll try it, and I’m not sure about our peach quality in Oklahoma. 😦 Cherries… now that’s what I’m talking about!

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 20, 2013 @ 14:33:46

          Oh yeah….tart cherries, lots and lots off them

          My papa made this insane cobbler during the winter using cherries we had frozen in the summer. He,d use those, drained pineapple chunks and pecans from our tree and add extra butter. When no one else but me was around, he,d sneak in kirsch. He was a wild man in the kitchen, a beat generation cook with southern verve.

          Reply

          • el34ax7
            Jun 20, 2013 @ 17:09:41

            He sounds like a wonderful, interesting man. I just had a vision of a gentlemen in the kitchen, tossing ingredients together and laughing maniacally while listening to Charlie Parker. I think I know who I want to be when I grow up!

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Jun 20, 2013 @ 18:53:07

              Yeppers, Charlie Parker, Fats Domino, Bill Monroe, Bobby Darin, Patsy Cline, Miles Davis, Dave Brubeck….he never laughed maniacally, but he would chuckle really deep, and wink at me a lot. Ask me, Sis, do you think we ought to add this? I’d sniff or taste and usually, Yeah Papa, add a lot. Very gentle, deceptively slow moving, wicked smart, and taught me how to box and shoot a rifle, gauge spark plugs, etc. My grandma Ninny would join us a lot and get in on the mix too. She’d throw in the Everly Brothers and Buddy Holly and Mahalia Jackson. Growing up like Papa wouldn’t be bad. I’ve often wanted to grow up to be him myself. > Date: Thu, 20 Jun 2013 21:09:44 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

              Reply

  5. Trackback: A Fruit by No Other Name, The Georgia Peach! | Web of Adam
  6. melsbabysis
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 21:00:35

    This sounds delicious! I learned a lot about cooking from my dad, also. My roots are southern, so I have enjoyed your blog. Keep on cookin’! http://neverorderbarbequeinaplacethatservesquiche.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  7. Trackback: dVerse Poetics – Papa’s Peach Cobbler | kanzen sakura

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

