Simple Sunday Supper: Mini Meatloaves with Sauce

 

meatloaf

Today after church, I asked my husband what he would like for supper. He hung his head and began a plaintive mooing. “What?” I asked. He said, “I am a ruminant, moooooooo.” This was his guy way of saying he was tired of salady stuff and felt like he had been grazing all week. I rolled my eyes, gestured to the temperature gauge in my car registering 99 outside degrees. Again with the plaintive mooing.

My go to meal for quick, easy, minimal oven heating is what I call Mini Meatloaves with Sauce. Some folks would call them Salisbury Steaks. My husband calls them yummy. You can serve these with rice, mashed potatoes, biscuits, rolls, veggies on the side….whatever. Tonight we are having steamed yellow squash with Vidalia onions, little buttered new potatoes, sliced tomatoes, and for dessert, some of the chess pie I bought Friday.

Here is the recipe. It is quick and easy and makes six smaller or four larger “loaves”. I use ground round. A market nearby frequently puts it on sale and I prefer it to lean hamburger or ground chuck – less fat and more flavor.

Mini-Meatloaves
1 +/- pound ground round (ground beef or ground chuck)
1/4 cup finely chopped Vidalia onion
1/4 cup finely chopped bell pepper
1 egg white
A couple of squirts of ketchup
Splash of Worcestershire sauce
2 TBS. dry Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1 can Campbell’s golden mushroom soup or jar of brown gravy

Mix together ingredients. Form into loaves. Place into skillet on medium heat. After about three minutes, turn over and brown other side. Reduce heat to low and cover with pan lid. After about 15 minutes, add soup diluted with 1/2 can water and stir around in pan. Add skillet top and simmer 10 minutes. Garnish with fresh chopped parsley. if you have to, add more liquid if necessary. Serve.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. twohp2few
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 00:20:35

    sounds amazing and pretty easy

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

