Saturday Afternoon: Later

He sat on the back steps
Watching as she went through forms
He had taught her.
The wakizashi flashed in the late day sun.
Her movements were swift and sure.

She was oblivious to all around her,
Intent, intense, concentrating but also, instinctive.
His lovely wren with the heart of a falcon.
Now she ceremoniously replaced the sword
In her scabbard and bowed to her invisible opponent.

Impulsively he ran down the steps
As she walked to the house.
He grabbed her and pulled her close to him,
Willing their bones to meld.
I love you, please never leave me, he murmured.

She held him and he felt her speaking against him.
He pulled her face up so he could see.
She gazed at him and then said, I’ll never leave you.
He did not and could not know the full reply he didn’t hear.
I’ll never leave you but one day, you will leave me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Emeron
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 09:17:13

    So beautiful this story I know so well, and have thought about so often since first I heard about the Samurai and his Wren. And beautifully told in so many ways. I confess, as I have in the past, that I have some difficulty with the sadness of it. That is a weakness of mine. But still such a beautiful story beautifully told.

    Sorry I have been so withdrawn. I have peeked out of my warren a time or two, but only for a moment at a time.

    My sweetheart found another forgotten treasure. Look for it to post on the 18th here. Its introduction will post a minute before. I do not remember writing it at all. It was for me a very interesting experience to have read it as though for the very first time.

    Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 19:11:09

    I’ve een in my warren as well. We’ve had so much rain, I’m afraid I’ll stick out my head, see my shadow and we’ll have another 16 inches of rain in the next few weeks. You are so very sensitive and so in love, that the thought of being without her causes your heart to hurt for those of us who have had to let the ones we love go, because we love them so very much.

    A good friend of mine committed suicide last week. I called my Samurai to let him know. It was as if we had never been apart. It was hard for him – they had spent hanami together, partying and travelling, following the cherry blossoms. We cannot be together physically, but our souls and hearts are still entwined.

    I love my husband dearly. That is possible. Two different men, two different loves. I’ve been thin king about your scientific work and wondering how things are going.

    Reply

  3. seeker
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 21:58:31

    Oh dear, promises do not promise.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

