Green Tea Ice Cream

English: green tea ice cream

English: green tea ice cream (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I use ceremonial quality matcha for this, and anything else, actually.  I made this today after church to satisfy a serious craving.  I’m about ready to dive in. Dinner is going to be Okonomiyaki. My husband’s will have chicken and shrimp, mine will be all veggie. I’ll do a post at some point about this wonderful Japanese dish. Tonight though, it’s all about the Green Tea Ice cream. Lovely to look at, incredible to eat.

Ingredients
•3/4 cup milk
•2 egg yolks
•5 Tbsp sugar
•3/4 cup heavy cream, whipped
•1 Tbsp matcha green tea powder
•3 Tbsp hot water

Preparation:
Mix hot water and green tea powder together in a bowl and set aside. Lightly whisk egg yolks in a pan. Add sugar in the pan and mix well. Gradually add milk in the pan and mix well. Put the pan on low heat and heat the mixture, stirring constantly. When the mixture is thickened, remove the pan from the heat. Soak the bottom of the pan in ice water and cool the mixture. Add green tea in the egg mixture and mix well, cooling in ice water. Add whipped heavy cream in the mixture and stir gently. Pour the mixture in an ice cream maker and freeze, following instructions of the ice cream maker. Or, pour the mixture in a container and freeze, stirring the ice cream a few times. Makes 4-6 servings

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 18:51:26

    Oh yum, that looks so good. Impressive you made it.

    Reply

  2. Bernice
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 20:58:27

    I love green tea ice cream!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 08, 2013 @ 21:37:19

      Well, here you go. You can make your own. Make it as heAlthy or decadent as you choose. I have an ancient Donvier I use which makes a quart. Cuisine art has a 1.5qt.one as well. Great and easy to make your own frozen yummies.

      Reply

  3. ThePlagueFairy
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 15:38:36

    I feel so fortunate to have found this today! We are going to the Asian store on Friday for miso soup ingredients and will be able to purchase the powdered green tea…And…my dear Mr. Emeron bought a half gallon of heavy cream at Costco last week that I haven’t been able to figure out what to do with.

    Thank you, this looks like a real treat!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 10, 2013 @ 17:18:46

      Yum. Heavy cream….if you are gettng stuff for miso soup, check out the miso paste. It is what I use and keep on hand. I use it also as amarinade. I have a post for it….miso chicken- sake, mirin…good stuff. You do not have to use ceremonial grade matcha as I do. It is just my Samurai taught me well. I hopee the two you thoroughly enjoy. Hugs!

      Reply

      • ThePlagueFairy
        Sep 12, 2013 @ 01:01:37

        Thank you very much. Miso paste it is!

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Sep 12, 2013 @ 17:03:47

          Don’t boil the miso paste for the miso soup, add at the last. I feel embarrassed because you are obviously an accomplished cook, but here is my recipe just in case:

          4 cups water
          1 1/2 teaspoons instant dashi granules
          1/2 cup miso paste
          1 tablespoon dried seaweed (for miso soup), soaked in water
          1/2 cup cubed tofu (optional)
          2 tablespoons chopped green onion

          Pour the water into a pot and bring to a boil. Add the instant dashi and whisk to dissolve. Turn the heat to medium-low and add the tofu. Drain the seaweed and add the seaweed to the pot. Simmer for 2 minutes.

          In the meatime, Spoon the miso paste into a bowl. Ladle about 1/2 cup of the hot dashi broth into a bowl and whisk with chopsticks or a whisk to mix and melt the miso paste so that it becomes a smooth mixture.

          Turn the heat off, add the miso paste to the pot and stir well. Top with green onions and serve immediately.

          Reply

  4. kanzensakura
    May 18, 2015 @ 12:12:27

    Reblogged this on kanzen sakura and commented:

    Summer is coming! And this is a lovely way to celebrate – lovely green, cool, smooth…..I hope you all will make and enjoy. I’m fixing this weekend for a Memorial Day cookout.

    Reply

  5. billgncs
    May 18, 2015 @ 14:19:56

    yummm….

    Reply

  6. DELL CLOVER
    May 18, 2015 @ 16:20:35

    I saw Green Tea ice cream at the store yesterday, and was curious about it. Thanks for doing the post! I’m impressed that you make it yourself–wowza!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 18, 2015 @ 17:32:36

      It is soooo good. And home made is just the penultimate. I should have posted the sakura ice cream back in the early spring but forgot. This is a lovely ice cream too and you can use your favorite vanilla ice cream, softened and mix in the sakura extract. If you saw the Hagen Daz green tea ice cream, it is excellent.

      Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 18, 2015 @ 16:42:43

    Sounds f.a.n.t.a.s.t.i.c. Kanzen. I guess green tea ice cream goes well with green tea cookies. I gained ten pounds just typing this. Still, it looks yummy. 🙂

    Reply

  8. el34ax7
    May 18, 2015 @ 20:19:50

    This is also poetry in my book. Man, that looks good.

    Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 19, 2015 @ 00:48:50

    I would love to do this…

    Reply

  10. E. Rawls
    May 21, 2015 @ 00:38:17

    Looks delicious! Where can I find macha green tea powder?

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 21, 2015 @ 00:55:38

      You can order online at Amazon or other sources – just be sure to read carefully as some of the green tea powder are sweetened and more of “drink” than green tea. Also, dependent upon the area of the country you are in, you can find at Asian food stores.

      Reply

  11. Mustang.Koji
    May 22, 2015 @ 22:59:05

    I was surprised to read that only 1 tbsp of the powder is used, considering how green the ice cream is. And Okonomiyaki? Wow!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

