Last Football Food Post – I hope

After today, it is someone else’s turn to babysit and feed the boys. I am in the process of a massive fall cleaning, getting rid of stuff campaign.  I am busy. Yesterday while I was at work tending my garden of fragile student engineer test candidates, I let my crockpot do the cooking work for me. Today, I pulled the crock out of the fridge and put in the heating element for reheat.  By the time the rest of the crew gets here at noon, the food will be ready to rock and roll.

Simple Saturday Menu: Italian sausages and peppers on hoagie rolls, assorted chips and onion dip, in-shell roasted peanuts, brownies, soft drinks and sweet tea. The Brownies are a classic Hersey recipe. My grandmother made them, my mother made them, I make them. You can frost with homemade or purchased chocolate icing if you choose. I don’t.

For the in-shell peanuts:  I buy several large bags and dump into THE punchbowl. Ready at hand is a small lined trash can for the shells. House Rule:  You vacuum the area before you leave.  Vacuum is in the area as a reminder.

Douzo meshiagare, y’all!

 

22373-2854-mx[1]                imagesCA0BOT4L

 

Easy Crockpot Italian Sausages
16 (4 ounce) links fresh Italian sausage (hot, sweet, pork, turkey – your choice. I use hot turkey)
1 large can crushed tomatoes
4 green bell peppers, seeded and sliced into strips
2 onions, sliced
salt and pepper
2 cloves minced garlic
1/2 tsp Italian seasoning Optional
Hoagie rolls – 4 guys = 8 rolls

Brown sausages in skillet and drain off grease. In bottom of crockpot, place peppers and onions. Top with sausages. Mix rest of ingredients and pour over. Cover and cook on low for six hours. Serve on rolls.

Onion Dip: the Classic
Recipe is on the onion soup mix box. I use low fat sour cream and add a few dashes of hot sauce. I make a double recipe.

Hershey Classic Brownies
1 cup Butter melted
2 cups Sugar
2 teaspoon Vanilla extract
4 large Eggs
3/4 cup Hershey’s Cocoa
1 cup All purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1 cup chopped nuts, optional

Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease 13 x 9 x 2-inch baking pan. (I use parchment paper) Into melted butter, stir in sugar and vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well with spoon after each addition. Add cocoa; beat until well blended. Add flour, baking powder, and salt; beat well. Stir in nuts, if desired. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. About 36 brownies.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 13:18:25

    A perfect football meal. I’m scratching at the sceen to get at those brownies! Have a relaxing time for you when it’s all over. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 14, 2013 @ 14:05:09

      I am relaxing now. You know, walking home from school on a cold afternoon and opening the kitchen door and smelling those brownies, first thing, was close to heaven. The recipe comes from a Hershey Booklet published in 1929. I never even tasted a box brownie until I was an almost 20 something. They are actually easy and if you make them a couple of times, you can make them in your sleep. truly. I remember my Ninny and mama at the table fixing these with me parked on the table between them. I was always given the bowl to lick. A lot of southern folks use pecans but I actually prefer English walnuts for these. If someone has an allergy, you can of course leave them out or only sprinkle on a portion of them before putting the in pan. I thank you for your always kind comments and bless you for the good work you do.

      Reply

  2. seeker
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 10:55:36

    feed them chips and beer, men’s food. 😛

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

