Shita no hō o mitsumeru

BACK STORY OF THIS POEM
Across the way from our home is a field. During autumn, it is full of wild golden flowers: golden rod, heliopsis, wild sunflowers, coreopsis. There are also tall seeded grasses, tiny orange flowered morning glories twining around the stems of the tall goldenrod and occasionally, the site of quail and always squirrels and sometimes finches clinging to delicate seeded grasses, munching away as they sway in the gentle breeze; tiny feet hooked tightly, they ride the grass as a surfer rides his own great wave.

Ogon no senshi means, Golden Warrior. I was walking through this field, entranced by the tall golden rod all about me, many of them six feet tall. At 4’10”, it was like walking among a forest of golden spires or, to my fanciful mind, ranks of ancient golden Samurai.

I stopped and looked up at one of the taller goldenrod. The breeze caused it to dip as if it were bowing to me, to allow me passage through the golden ranks. I smiled, bowed in return, and continued with my walk. A friend gave me the name of Kunoichi-no-Chesterfield after a, ahem, foray one night. The correct term more respectfully would be Onnabugeisha, but kunoichi works for this. I hope you enjoy.

Golden Warrior
We stand eye to eye
Kunoichi-no-Chesterfield
and Ōgon no senshi

wind blows
we bow
I pass

goldenrod

photo copyright by Kanzen Sakura

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernice
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 15:49:41

    What a pretty picture!

    Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 21:47:05

    Reblogged this on kanzen sakura and commented:

    One of the few poems with which I have been satisfied. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 21:57:02

    Aah. Sorry, I’m sometimes slow, especially in poetry territory.
    I picture he must bend his knees to see you eye-to-eye. Thereby comes the couch into view. I LOVE it if I have the correct image. ❤ Your golden rod photo is wonderful, mostly because I love yellow. It always makes me smile.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

