Let’s take a drive – video Christian Kane

Lately, I’ve felt…….lost.  I don’t know where the wild girl, feisty woman went.  The suicide of a long time friend a few weeks ago has aged my soul in ways I cannot describe.  He and I used to drive around at night, windows down and radio blaring, singing at the top of our lungs.  He comforted me when my Samurai returned to Japan.   And now….

But this song, by Chris Kane ,a wild Oklahoma boy with a gift for rock ’em, sock ’em country rock songs and songs of heart stirring wistfulness, reminds me of a lot of things.  Maybe, that girl is still within me.  I hope so.  I miss her a lot.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 20:56:58

    I’m so sorry to read about your friend. That’s never easy and while the loss weighs on your heart and the wild girl, feisty woman seems to have taken a back seat for a while, it’s all part of the process while the grieving works its way through. That’s a beautiful poignant song. My best guess is that girl will always be within you and just needs to grieve over your friend for a while before she pops back out. My hearts with you. Love, Paulette

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2013 @ 13:03:54

      Thank you Paulette. You are right and I needed to hear what you said. It just so surprised. I saw him the day before and so of course, I have been playing back our interaction to see if there was something he said and I could have stopped it. I imagine, nothing could have been done. he always played close to the vest and was even more determined that I once he set his mind to something. again, thank you for your words of kindness and wisdom. Love, Toni

      > Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2013 00:56:59 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

  2. twohp2few
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 01:55:46

    I’m sure that girl is still there, just waiting for the right time to make her presence felt. And never forget that the current you is pretty darn ok as well. That’s also pretty important to remember.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 04, 2013 @ 13:04:45

      You are precious. You have made my heart feel better, although this is going to take a long time and I just need to let that happen, right? thank you so much.

      > Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2013 05:55:49 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

      • twohp2few
        Oct 04, 2013 @ 14:17:42

        Exactly. It’s hard to be patient but you have all the right pieces, they just need to come together. It’ll work out in the end, and I refuse to believe otherwise 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Oct 05, 2013 @ 08:08:15

          Yes, it is hard to be patient, especially when one is in pain and wants to stop feeling it. It is tempting to stuff down those feelings, but in this puzzle called life, you can’t leave out any of the pieces – it won’t be a complete life. > Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2013 18:17:43 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

          Reply

  3. seeker
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 16:46:05

    Oh dear, I am terribly sorry for losing someone on this situation. May you find peace eventually with beautiful memories. My prayers to you. I will light up a candle for you and your friend in the next church I will visit here in Spain. My Prayers, Perpetua

    Reply

  4. fournier0917
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 19:01:58

    Beautiful words, beautiful song to spread the the hurt, until it thins out and fades the weight of pain that will lift from the shoulders that life gave us to carry what it imposes. Thus so till all that is left are the good sweet memories. We who have been there reach out to you… JJ

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

