Blondies

Except for the classic Hershey Brownie recipe, I am not fond of brownies.  I know there may be a collective gasp, but chocolate is not one of my favorite things.  When given the choice between a bittersweet chocolate truffle or a strawberry, I’ll choose the strawberry. Chocolate cake vs. apple pie?  The pie will win every time.

But Blondies?  Oh my.  Brown sugar, butter….sinful and sweet:  just like a Southern Belle.  This recipe is easy and doesn’t make a huge amount.  Fix it up quickly and give to your dinner guests, warm from the oven, for dessert.  Midnight munchies?  Gamer food chow down?  This recipe is for you. Top with ice cream if you dare.

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup of tightly packed dark brown sugar
1 egg lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/8 tsp. baking soda
pinch of salt
1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup of butterscotch chips and or chopped walnuts and/or chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly butter and flour an 8×8 pan.  Whisk together melted butter and sugar in a bowl.   Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk.  Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, mix it all together. Add the butterscotch chips or other mix-ins. Pour into the pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool. Cut into squares and serve.

blondies

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kev
    Oct 19, 2013 @ 13:10:38

    How about you just send one over? 😉

    Reply

  2. SirenaTales
    Oct 19, 2013 @ 22:31:23

    Yum! I love Blondies, but haven’t made in awhile. Think I will be trying out this recipe this week. Thank you!

    Reply

  3. TheGreatZambini
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 19:05:40

    I like fruity things more than chocolate in general myself, so I don`t think you are weird. In fact, if I have any chocolate at all, I`ll nibble on my bar of 85%. Most dark chocolate eaters don`t go beyond 60%, but I really love the bitterness of the darker chocolate!

    It`s nice to see you branching out with your writing as well. I`ll be sure to fiddle with this recipe to find the perfect gluten free edition sometime!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 20, 2013 @ 19:18:22

      Thank you! I hope you will enjoy. I imagine there is some gluten free flour out there so please give it a go and let me know how it goes. I love the dark dark bittersweet chocolate that has bits of orange peel in it. I can’t think of the brand that is a once in awhile pleasure.

      I like spreading my wings with different writing. Faulty as it may be, I do like doing it and do it for myself without worry about “likes”. I actually have done some prose – a four part story: The Samurai and the Wren (true) and a story about an incident in my childhood, the Dancing Crinoline, among some others. I can’t seem to decide which to do, so I just do what moves me – just because I can.

      Again, thank you so much for your kind words and your encouragement.

      Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

