Koyo 紅葉

leaves softly falling
watching them I think of you
I hold one to my lips

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Emeron
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 03:25:25

    I think I like this one best thus far. Each line, a subtle thought, stands delicately on its own

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 24, 2013 @ 08:04:04

      It is a deeply felt and one of those “accidents”. I was pondering my Saturday walk in the woods. I leaned against a persimmon tree and stood there in silence, except for the aki no soe (voice of autumn) watching as its leaves floated around me to the ground. Deep thoughts, flickering memories. I held out my hand and one rested against my palm. Once could say all of this in a longer poem, and maybe I will at some point. But this haiku was all I could bear. I work hard at wrapping line. This one wrote itself as I penned the line in my journal. Ahhh, she said. it is an accidental haiku.

      Aki no soe is one of those specific terms: voice of autumn – the sound of rustling leaves, song of seasonal birds, autumn rains against the roof, the odd cracking of a branch in the forest, the last few crickets.

      Reply

  2. David Emeron
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 03:28:13

    I have wondered, here and there, if perhaps haiku, in particular, are too short to contain wrapped lines; and keeping that in mind as an additional constraint, makes me ponder my words more deeply and thoroughly.

    Reply

  3. SirenaTales
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 13:43:48

    quiet, tender, wistful, lovely. thank you

    Reply

  4. Eva PoeteX
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 03:55:30

    This poem melts my heart. Your haiku evoke such profound emotion!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

