Holiday Blues…Clowie…Christmas Cookies

It is just a drizzly grey day – not even 50 shades of gray – just uniform blah gunship grey and drizzly. Did I mention drizzly?? And grey????

I have a case of the Christmas/Holiday blues big time. My mom is in Florida and I will miss her. A couple of my friends have died this year and I miss them. Boohoo….waaaaaaaaaa

But then I talked a little bit to Clowie – she always makes me happy. Here is the website: http://clowiescorner.wordpress.com .  She’s been nominated for a bunch of well deserved awards and that makes me happy. Go and visit her. A definite smile maker.

She nominated me for the Inner Peace Award. That made me sniff a bit.  I didn’t feel peaceful, I just felt blah. But she said when she visited my blog, she felt peaceful.  I am very grateful for the nomination and the pat on the shoulder.

So like I said, after talking with Clowie abit, I feel better.  In fact, I feel like making some Christmas cookies.

Almond Shortbread Cookies
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
2 drops almond extract
1 1/4 cup sifted all-purpose flour, plus extra to dust
3/4 cup ground almonds
Zest of 1 lemon
Instructions
In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Stir in the beaten egg and extract. Add the flour, ground almonds and lemon zest and mix until the dough comes together.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead into a ball. Divide the dough in half and then roll each half into a log, about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap each log in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour (the dough can be frozen at this point for a later use).

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the plastic wrap and slice into 1/4-inch-thick rounds. Place the cookies onto the prepared baking sheets and bake until golden brown at the edges, about 15 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheets for 3 or 4 minutes before transferring to wire cooling racks to cool completely, or just eat warm from the oven. FOR FUN: Drizzle with blue icing, sprinkles, sugar, or roll edges of cookies in sugar or sprinkles before baking

Have a blue blue Christmas!!!!

imagesCAKWUBQO

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalyrical
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 17:53:59

    Mmm shortbread!
    Also, your opening may have been one of the best I’ve seen for a blog post :’D “It is just a drizzly grey day – not even 50 shades of gray “

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 21:08:11

      Thank you so very much. Wow, one of the best openings….I am humbled. This is what makes me smile, words such as yours. Wish you were here. We could have some almond shortbread cookies and green tea – fifty shades of green .

      Reply

  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 20:57:41

    I agree with Clowie, you make me feel peaceful as well. There’s no arguing with the wisdom of our mutual friend. Hugs and hope the blues turn light and cheery. Love, Paulette

    Reply

  3. kanzensakura
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 21:11:52

    Thank you Paulette. I agree,Clowie is wise and wonderful. And so are you. I feel better already. And the cookies are good! Love, Toni

    Reply

  4. el34ax7
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 22:43:34

    Oh my, I’ll be right there! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 06, 2013 @ 06:29:29

      I,all make some green tea cookies too! Fifty shades of festive. Have you ordered your KFC yet?

      Reply

      • el34ax7
        Dec 06, 2013 @ 08:48:25

        Lol nope being a veggie makes it almost useless. But I hear Mos Burger does a pretty good Christmas as well. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Dec 06, 2013 @ 09:07:47

          Well, Ilve decided the Colnel is going to do our Christmas eve dinner – since they won’t be open Christmas. I’ll have to put my own holiday stickers on the bucket to give it that festive japanese christmas thing, but that’s okay. My husband cannot believe we are having kentucky fried chicken but then, as long as I have sausage balls, wedding cookies, and potato skins, he’ll be happy to leave the chicken to me and the cat. Christmas day will be throw down day for food. Rib roast, yorkshire pudding….other stuff. But KFC, a fiberoptic tree, and Die Hard (one of my favorite Christmas movies) will make for a festive Christmas eve. I’ve finally decided to give him my Erector Set (not a piece missing) for this Christmas. I think he only married me to get that – lol I hope you will be able to have a festive time way over there. When you have time, take a day trip and visit Ryoan-ji for me.

          > Date: Fri, 6 Dec 2013 13:48:26 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

          Reply

  5. mindlovemisery
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 02:38:17

    I am sending you hugs and positive vibes!

    Reply

  6. Clowie
    Dec 07, 2013 @ 03:50:39

    Thank you for those kind words about me! I enjoy talking to you.
    Wouldn’t it be lovely if we could sit and eat those cookies together? I don’t think they’d be around long enough to be iced and get sprinkles!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 07, 2013 @ 18:01:14

      I think it would be a nice time. Those cookies and some cold milk. They are very good and not so dreadfully sweet. mybe you could take some to share with your bipeds!

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

