The Smell of Home – A True Christmas Story

Please overlook typos…I have this wabi sabi thing about perfection. But I wish all of you peace, love, light….and a home full of all that gives you joy and makes your heart smile.

kanzen sakura

I’m sorry.  This might be a little long for some of you, but I hope you will read.  I was born and raised in the South and except for occasional sojourns on Long Island, Philadelphia, London, Tokyo, and San Francisco, I have lived in the South.  I grew up in a neighborhood close to the Duke east campus.  People had lived there in the same homes for generations.  We knew each other, knew all the stories about each others’ ancestors, who had converted their sleeping porches and when and when finally (we were among the last) who sold their portion of the mews and sent their last horse to live with relatives in the country.

In 1968, the impossible happened – the Pollard family next to us, finally died out.  The house was sold to strangers – maybe even folks from up North!!!  Of course, if they were connected to Duke…

View original post 1,124 more words

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

