DP Challenge: Ghosts of Christmas

My little magic tree
three feet high and fragrant fir
Sits on a shelf and breathes out
Scents of Christmases past,
Decorated with colored lights
Shines out scenes of Christmases past.

I see my Papa and my Grandma Ninny,
All of us gathered around.
My aunts, my mom,
my cats and dogs.
Some are well and truly ghosts
but today they are as warm and real
as they were years ago.

My papa laughing and teasing
My teenaged aunts,
My ninny smelling of cinnamon and vanilla,
Her gentle smile glowing brighter
than the lights on the tree.

My Puglsley, Miss Boot, and Sam B
eye the ornaments but do not touch.
Sandy wags her tail and prances
all around.
We are all together
Safe and warm and happy.
Dinner will be soon
and gifts will be opened.
The laughter still chimes in my heart
and the carols we’ll sing
I still hear.
My body has never forgotten
the touches of love
From all I love at Christmas.

Happy ghosts who visit to
let me know I am still and always loved.
My little perfect magic tree
says to me:
I’m now a part of Christmas past!
I’m part of you and your family.

The best ghost of Christmas
is the one called love.
I hope my ghosts visits you and yours
and you are touched with blessings
Peace, joy and light from above.
God bless us, everyone.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Uncle Tree
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 16:41:24

    Ah, that’s sweet! I am touched. 🙂
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    ✟Peace always, Uncle Tree ▲

    Reply

  2. huntmode
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 20:56:26

    Kanzen, lovely, lovely, and lovely – you have shared your love and loved ones with us and I can feel them. Thank you. May all our ghosts visit one another’s families and touch down a wing to say, “Hi, Kanzen and HuntMode sent me!”

    I have zero talent with poetry and so appreciate it sometimes even more than if I did. 🙂

    Reply

  3. gpcox
    Jan 04, 2014 @ 06:11:12

    Excellent!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

