My Words for 2014

Every year, I meditate and pray and then my words for coming year come and I use them to live in the next year. This year my words are: Choice, Joy, and No Fear.

I will choose to live my life with Joy and No Fear. The choices I make will have to do with Joy and No Fear. The choices I make will hopefully allow me to live a life of kindness, courtesy, curiosity, health.

Last year was a year full of events that caused me much fear and anxiety, depression, pain. Some I could control and others I could not. I am going to exercise my faith muscle. I do believe in a God that loves me and renews His faithfulness and love to me daily. I will choose to have more faith, more trust, I will listen to that Holy Spirit in me that whispers it is always close and there for me. I will work on that relationship of love and trust and in turn, have less fear and more joy.

I will treasure each moment and person I love. Oddly, it was a dog that led me to this, or rather, her person. I follow the blog, Rumpydog (http://wp.me/p1GPpQ-2D9) . DeDe, one of the dogs, has cancer. Her human is having a hard time with this and trust me, I understand this totally. My beloved Pugsley cat and I went through this a few years ago and it still makes me cry. I miss his sweet self. I try to be the person he always thought I was.

But anyway, Sundays, DeDe gives beauty tips. That sweet dog says, the best beauty accessory is a smile. She also said her resolve for 2014 was to live each day to the fullest because you never know how much time you have. And she is right. I’m probably too tender hearted in these things, but it makes me cry for her and for her human. And she is right.

My mom is not doing well. COPD, old age…it is scary and makes me feel like I will soon be an orphan. We never know from one breath to the next how much time we have in this life and with people we love. I lost two dear friends this year – cancer and suicide. I am still reeling from this and working through it.

So I choose to live my life full of joy. I can’t go about fearing the next moment or event. Passion, joy, excitement, curiosity. Smelling a rose, watching a robin pulling a worm out of the ground, the mental pleasure of making an A on a Quantum Mechanics course, doing the Quick Step with my husband down the hall, rubbing the sweet face of my Sam the Ripper Cat, hearing my mother’s voice on the phone. All of this and more.

What we have in this life if we choose it: grace, joy, hope, faith. I open my arms to 2014. Here’s to a year of living joyously: frying chicken, writing bad haiku and loving it, breathing in sweet winter air, tracking the progress of the flowering quince bush, smiling at babies sitting in grocery carts, being gente with elderly folks on the phone when they call for information at my job, trying to steer my teen Sunday class through the paths of righteousness, sharing my love of life and joy, being sentimental and not ashamed to feel, to making new friends, to letting my heart choose those friends rather than conventional wisdom, trying to be a loving and loyal friend, daughter, wife, woman….to continuing to blog and never getting Freshly Pressed and never having more than 300 followers which is fine because I’m okay but you folks are even better, to having a year of dreams and maybe one day…maybe sitting on the viewing platform at Ryoan-ji in the snow once again, to never having my heart closed to love…

What are your words for 2014? What are your dreams? What do you want? Face your fears – take your passion and make it happen. This is your now.

 

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seeker
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 21:11:25

    The list is endless and there is so much to be joyful. What a great list and should I see no joy in your post, may I remind you that you wrote this. 😛

    Reply

  2. SirenaTales
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 09:56:07

    Excellent choices, my friend! May your year be full of passion and joy. Rock on. xoxo

    Reply

  3. Clowie
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 11:18:31

    I will continue to help my bipeds to make time for, and enjoy, the simple things in life. They are full of plans – someone has to keep them grounded!
    I hope 2014 is a good year for you.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 09, 2014 @ 12:00:11

      I hope for you as well. I am looking forward to hearing about all of your adventures. I’m really sad about DeDe, but she truly inspired me. Such a sweet gentle soul and yet, she did something so very important.

      Reply

  4. Bernice
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 13:01:36

    I love your words for this year!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 13, 2014 @ 15:49:22

      Thank you. My sunday school class and I have been discussing the new year and such, and how in Lamentations, 3:22-23, how every day God renews His love and faithfulness to us – how we all make a big deal of the New Year and new beginnings whereas in truth, every day is a new beginning. this is our theme for January – new beginnings, renewing faithfulness, choices….they are a great bunch of kids. > Date: Mon, 13 Jan 2014 18:01:39 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

  5. ThePlagueFairy
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 00:01:38

    Thank you for this, Ma’am. As always, your words are full of grace. I wish you joy!
    …and I will pray for it, too.
    Joy and courage to face the year ahead.
    That sounds like a fine loadstar for us all — I’ll take it!

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

