01/15 1:15 am – iteboshi

I sit
wrapped in my grandmother’s quilt.
Cold night,
sweet smell of impending snow
crystalizes my breath
into faint ragged clouds.
Silent, still, black night.
Alone
I gaze into the sky above me,
ragged clouds exposing scattered stars
and a bit of the full round moon.
I sit
wrapped in my grandmother’s quilt
waiting for the stars to fall
to the ground in
drifts of glowing white.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 20:57:25

    I like the sound of this. Not sure if this is introspection or wishing on a star.
    Poetry is not my forte but I try to understand. 😉

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 21:00:02

      Introspection, wishing, fantasy – imaging the stars falling to the ground around me….all of it. I don’t sleep well and often sit on my back steps at night, through all kinds of weather. > Date: Fri, 17 Jan 2014 01:57:27 +0000 > To: thspencer51@hotmail.com >

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Jan 17, 2014 @ 13:18:29

        Sorry to hear that you don’t sleep well. I’ve had the experience once or twice and it was horrible. As the world sleeps, you wait for dawn.

        I have a sister who has had this problem her whole life. Have you not had success with anything to help?

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jan 17, 2014 @ 13:48:40

          I have not slept well since the huge love of my life returned to Japan 22 years ago. While with him, I slept well with sometime bouts of insomnia. As a child and until him, I had trouble sleeping. My body adjusted and I can cope quite well on 2 – 4 hours a night or a day or two without. I like the solitude and different awareness of the night. I don’t like medications as they make me tired and spacey. Sometimes warm milk and ginger helps but not much. I am one of those folks who don’t need all those hours of sleep. Sometime if you are bored, you can read back postings of this love in the four part The Samurai and the Wren. I have written poems about our time together as well. Thank you for your concern. I know people who specialize in sleep disorders say to cut out caffeine, stimulus before sleep (reading, tv in the room, etc), winding down, exercise. Some of those things might help your sister a tad, but then, like me, she just may not need the sleep. I gave into it as a child because I liked wandering about in the sillness and the dark, enjoying the seasons at night and as teenager, stealing out to meet friends…:-) I have an aunt who is the same way.

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            Jan 18, 2014 @ 10:48:11

            I find my sister’s body has taken a beating.
            Still, although I do enjoy the feeling in early morning or rarely late at night of being the only one awake and the rest of the house in dreamland, I prefer my sleep.

            I see there is always a reason why sleep won’t come. Wish I had a magic touch…

            Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 21:10:50

      Iteboshi is Japanese for frozen stars

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

