St. Patrick’s Day Post for my Granda

One of my favorite movies of all times is “Waking Ned Devine”.  I watched in DVD and when it was over, I watched it again.  It is what I call a “true” movie – not that it is a factual accounting of an event, but because it is full of humor, friendship, sarcasm, love, mystery, mean spiritedness – life.

The movie made me laugh until I cried.  One scene, made me weep and was one reason, I watched the movie in its entirety, all over again.

The movie has a bit of a convoluted plot and if you haven’t seen it, I won’t ruin.  But the scene that touched me to the depths of my soul was a funeral and the eulogy given by the friend of the supposed dead man.  To this day, the scene and the words touch me.  Celebrate St. Patrick’s day with green beer and leapin’ leprechauns – I’ll be watching Waking Ned Devine.

I urge you to watch it if you have not.  At times funny, wistful, a nail biter – it is, a true movie.  True in its portrayal of friendship, love, greed, and forgiveness.  Below is the eulogy in written form.  I could not find a video clip for it.  But like I said, if you have not seen the movie, do it.  It is in my top 10 favorite movies and it is called “Waking Ned Devine” for a very good reason!

Jackie O’Shea:  As we look back on the life of… [pause] Michael O’Sullivan was my great friend, but I don’t ever remember telling him that. The words that are spoken at a funeral are spoken too late for the man who is dead. What a wonderful thing it would be to visit your own funeral. To sit at the front and hear what was said. Maybe to say a few things yourself. Michael and I grew old together. But at times, when we laughed, we grew younger. If he was here now, if he could hear what I say, I’d congratulate him on being a great man, and thank him for being a friend.

Indeed.  What we would hear?  Live your life so when someone gives your eulogy, they say what you would want to hear as if you were sitting at the back, listening.  Tell those you love and appreciate, say what you want to say to them while they can hear it.

I’ve also included “the Parting Glass” from Waking Ned Devine – the song sung as my grandfather’s casket was carried from the church at his funeral.  He died on St. Patrick’s day.  Goodnight sweet man.  And though it is years ago, still your sweet spirit and musical soul are missed by those of us who live to remember you with love.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 20:48:07

    Sorry about your grandfather but not sorry about your warm memories of him.
    I know I’ve seen this movie but I don’t recall all the details. That’s the wonder of good movies, each time you watch you find a new fragment you missed the time before. Will want to see this again just to see what I’ve forgotten. 🙂

    Reply

  2. huntmode
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 22:17:51

    Kanzen, lovely tribute to your Granda. I’m so glad it is evening and I can raise my glass to him and his living spirit and to you, my friend, for caring still so much to share his memory so he may live on.

    I’ve seen Ned, but like Tess, obviously, I need to go appreciate it again.

    Reply

  3. Maurice A. Barry
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 04:25:12

    Granda lives on in the memories of those who loved him. It’s clearly true. By the way, have you heard the High Kings’ version of that song? I’d link it here but it tends to fill the comments section.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 18, 2014 @ 11:41:24

      I think I’ve heard every version! At his funeral, a group from the local bar he was often a visitor at (alas) did the honors. I chose this version because of the movie. It’s a good song.

      Reply

  4. gapark
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 17:36:38

    One of my favorites as well. lovely post.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

