Sonnet I: That which Sings

An outstanding poem from my favorite, David Emeron. This speaks of such deep and abiding love and history of that love. It is part of a sequence. when you go to his page (and you really should), you will find the entirety of the work associated with this.

David Emeron: Sonnets

I sing to thee of winter’s rain, my sweet;
I sing of hours spent and hours kept;
Of all the dreams beneath this rain, we’ve slept;
For all the time I’ve held thy head, thy feet,

I sing to thee, although my heart is fleet.
If not for me then thou wouldst not have wept;
Thy tears doth fill my pen which make adept,
And make me to produce such indiscreet

Reflection. When I think of all those hours,
Innumerable, they, within our frame;
As sore beset with devils, as with flowers;
Of all the seemingly unending pain;
Those times that seemed controlled by other powers;
I remember, then, how soothing is the rain.

This sonnet is part of a short sequence; click here to read it all:

View original post

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 16:53:15

    O.u.t.s.t.a.n.d.i.n.g.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 26, 2014 @ 16:54:18

      And you said you weren’t really into poetry! David can change your mind about that. Date: Wed, 26 Mar 2014 20:53:16 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Mar 26, 2014 @ 21:40:18

        I always wonder if it has something to go with how overloaded my brain is. Sometimes processing blogs and comments leaves my brain strangled.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Mar 26, 2014 @ 21:44:31

          I understand. sometimes, I just have to back away and empty my brain – to be like water. to just let it flow without direction until it is clear again – shimizu no aki…..clear water not clouded by storms. I get overloaded myself and experience serious brain outage. You have a lot going on – trying to get your trip and stuff together…. I call it oversaturated. I hit that Monday. I was trying to fill out forms and such and I just couldn’t comprehend the written words in front of me. I folded them up and just walked away. Date: Thu, 27 Mar 2014 01:40:22 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            Mar 26, 2014 @ 22:17:19

            OMGosh.Most times I think I`m the only one n the wold having a problem and wonder why aren`t I handling all this multi-tasking better.
            I worked in an office all my life. I HATE forms. 😦

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Mar 26, 2014 @ 22:21:59

              Forms don’t bother me….as long as they’re in a trash can somewhere. And I used to design the bloody things..

              Reply

              • Let's CUT the Crap!
                Mar 26, 2014 @ 22:37:11

                I set a few up as well but that was somewhat different from actually dragging the information OUT of someone when they had trouble filling in the information.
                We were immigrants and I found later (I wasn`t the only one), all the children found it stressful explaining forms to their parents(that they didn`t understand although they knew the language.)

                Reply

  2. David Emeron
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 00:48:21

    This brightened our evening–even in our recent travels (or travails….)

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

