Ume ga ka 梅が香 Tanka

I walk in moonlit
night guided by sweet wine smell
first plum blossoms of spring most
beautiful of all.

purple_plum_blossom_by_birdylee-d61m6kl[1]

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mélanie
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 10:03:26

    Reply

  2. Kev
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 16:36:58

    Beautiful

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 04, 2014 @ 20:55:16

      Thank you!

      Date: Fri, 4 Apr 2014 20:37:01 +0000
      To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

      • Kev
        Apr 05, 2014 @ 13:07:21

        I love your Tankas.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 05, 2014 @ 13:44:42

          Thank you very much. I do enjoy writing them. Sometimes, a haiku isn’t quite enough.

          Date: Sat, 5 Apr 2014 17:07:24 +0000
          To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • Kev
            Apr 05, 2014 @ 16:53:10

            I was just checking out the difference between a Tanka and a Haiku…they are both japanese and they both mean short poem. I’ll have to try a Tanka and see how it goes. 🙂

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Apr 05, 2014 @ 17:57:19

              Tanka is basically:
              5 syllables
              7 syllables
              7 syllables
              5 syllables no pauses – all one sentence. Unlike haiku, you don’t have to use seasonal words. many people think haiku is just a short poem of 5-7-5 syllbles. You have to use a seasonal word first line and second line, a kigo or cutting word. Many people don’t follow the rules and therefore, just write a short poem of 17 syallbles and call it haiku. One of my pet peeves but I restrain myself from commenting that their poem is not a haiku, it is just a short poem. You will notice all my haiku have the seasonal and kigo words. the tanka is not so picky but it does have to be one sentence with no breaks. Many people find the tanka easier because it is not so formal. Some of my haiku end up being tanka because I find I just needneedneed those extra 7 syllables to say what I need to say! and then I take myself to task that I am being too wordy. LOL…. I’d like to see your tanka. I hope you will post them!

              Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

