What Do You REALLY Know About Dog Fighting?

Please pass along this information from Rumpy. If we work at it, this is one evil we may be able to curtail. thank you.

Rumpydog

April 8 is National Dog Fighting Awareness Day. Designated by the ASPCA, the day is designed to educate us about what dog fighting is and how we can stop it.

dog-fighting-quizz-header dog fighters start training dogs as pups (photo from ASPCA)

Here are some interesting facts about dog fighting:

Dog fighting became popular in the US in the late 1800’s. Many police officers and firefighters were participants. That’s why the New York legislature gave Henry Bergh (founder of ASPCA) law enforcement powers- they knew he couldn’t depend on law enforcement for support.

While some dog fighters are “street fighters” who starve and beat their dogs to get them to become aggressive, the hobbyist and professional dog fighters invest in their dogs. They breed for aggressiveness, provide good nutrition and veterinary care for their dogs, and exercise and train them. And it pays off financially. Professional fights can earn big payouts for winning…

View original post 243 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaklumen
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 02:09:28

    I took the quiz at the ASPCA site. Very sad.

    I want a dog very badly… but I can’t really afford to keep and care for one right now. It rather frustrates me when I read about dog fighting or puppy mills. I know although I’d be struggling to do so, I’d provide a better home than some I read about in such stories :-S

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 07:20:09

      I know. My husband really wants a dog too and frankly, so do I. Money has been tight the past few years and I lost my job a month ago. I know you all would be responsible and loving. Maybe it can happen for you and for us. I have a cat and I am afraid he’ll get sick or something and need a vet. I just try to not borrow trouble. Just keep hoping.

      Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

