Awards: Accept or not accept?

I have been thinking about this for quite some time. I’ve read reasons to give and accept awards and reasons to not do them in any form. You will notice, all awards, except for the Inner Peace Award have been removed from my blog.

Before I go further, if you do not accept awards and someone should make the mistake of giving you one, please be courteous. Many times, awards are given with the thoughts of kindness and true appreciation of your work. If you can’t respond in kind, then please don’t respond. A simple, “Thank you, but I do not accept awards” is sufficient. The giver of the award does not need a lecture about how you are above such things, don’t belong to social networks (as if the award implies such), or believe in quality rather than quantity, or any other such unwarranted remarks. I don’t know about you all, but I was taught if you can’t say something kind, say nothing. The way you handle a bestowed award says a great deal about you, regardless of your blogging superiority.

That being said, I have decided to no longer accept awards. Not because of the social network thing, which I still don’t understand, not because of quality versus quantity (I control that by my writing, not by the person giving the award), or any other reasons. I appreciate the true kindness and recognition of persons who have given me awards in the past. This is just a personal decision I have made.

However, the one award I am keeping and displaying is the Inner Peace Award. This was given to me by my dear friend Clowie over at Clowie’s Corners. The Inner Peace Award is exactly as Clowie said, “I feel at peace when I visit your blog”. I want people to feel welcome at my blog. I want to connect, to share, to learn from you all and for you all to learn from me – to take away a smile or thought from my words. I write because I enjoy the creative process and I do so appreciate those of you who “Like” and/or comment. I write because I have been writing almost all of my life. I write because I enjoy it.

So again, thank you to all of you who have given me awards in the past. Thank you all for your taking time to comment. I intend to, instead of giving awards, in the future, to make more comments, to show my appreciation for your work.

Let us be kind to each other. Let us take more time to comment and show our appreciation or respect or enjoyment or how the blog touched us. Sometimes that simple smiley face in a comment box means more to me than an award. We are all so busy and I know you all, like me, follow multiple blogs. Share you encouragement, thoughts, dreams, stories.

Thank you again to all of you who have commented, liked, given awards.  Let us give to each other courtesy and kindness.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. belsbror
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 14:54:17

    You call the shots in your blog. You decide whatever you wish. Good luck with all your projects. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 15:02:45

      Actually, I remember the time you gave out awards and one of the awardees was rude to you. That bothered me a great deal. I just decided this after a lot of thought. it’s personal. People who give and accept them are okay by me. It’s just the rude people that make me unhappy. And here’s to say: I like your new layout. Very interesting choice of display! I always enjoy your blogs and intend to take more time to let you know.

      Reply

      • belsbror
        Apr 08, 2014 @ 15:11:09

        I had a problem with a ‘polite’ one but that’s okay. I moved on. 🙂
        I know how time consuming choosing nominees is. As I always say: blogging has no deadlines.
        And like I said, you decide what’s best with your blog. We will always be supportive.
        Blessing,
        belsbror

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 08, 2014 @ 15:24:42

          Yes you did! That’s why, when I wrote about the awards you and others gave me, I made the point that I follow the bloggers who gave me the awards and that I liked them! For the most part, I have found people to be kind and supportive of each other. People like you make blogging and reading blogs a joy.

          Reply

          • belsbror
            Apr 08, 2014 @ 15:34:27

            Always thankful for bloggers like you, who understand what blogging is about. 🙂
            Keep the posts coming. We’ll always be here to read.
            Take care.
            belsbror

            Reply

  2. seeker
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 20:44:44

    I am breaking the sound of silence just for this post. Bravo.

    Reply

  3. Edward Hotspur
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 20:58:18

    Don’t stop accepting them. Just thank the award giver but skip all the homework assignments that come with them. I used to make up awards every so often, with insane rules. Fun stuff. No one gives them out now, probably.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 21:46:49

      Oh, they do! I like the fun made up stuff though. But yeah, they give out awards still. I did a post a few weeks ago thanking three people who gave me awards but then didn’t follow any rules. I invited anyone who read the post to grab awards for themselves – an award fire sale, so to speak.

      Reply

      • Edward Hotspur
        Apr 08, 2014 @ 22:21:39

        I am actually surprise that I get any awards. I am glad (sort of) I put poetry on another blog so I can have some level of seriousness.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 08, 2014 @ 22:24:47

          I am surprised as well. I have thought of doing a blog of just poetry. As it is, my current blog is a mishmash of what I enjoy. One day I will get ambitious and do a poetry blog, for as you say, some level of seriousness. I’m still thinking on it. One day…

          Reply

          • Edward Hotspur
            Apr 08, 2014 @ 22:28:12

            It just seemed inelegant to put serious poetry next to poop jokes and rants. I did it for a year, but… I think I like it this way after all.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Apr 08, 2014 @ 22:42:29

              Which is probably why I keep my blog as it is. I’m at home on my blog. If someone visited me, they’d get a mix of a lovely cup of tea or sweet iced tea, teriyaki or fried chicken, some Zen or a joke about the escaped convict…I read blogs of just poetry and they seem so….disciplined and purposeful. I follow the blog of a man who writes such incredible and beautiful sonnets. They are perfect, sensual, rich…I read in awe and envy. I know I am not a very good poet or prose writer. I accept that. I strive for more though. I’m rarely satisfied. math, physics, solutions – I can control those and contain them. the other, I can’t control. I want them to be perfect and they rarely are.

              Reply

  4. jaklumen
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 02:02:52

    Hm. I am reminded of an award I accepted recently– I have not answered it directly, but I did respond to the woman that gave it to me and provided a link to post with a very similar award (with the same name, actually). I hope that wasn’t too lazy of me but this chronic pain is draining.

    I find this award trend amusing sometimes. I have been blogging for 10 years– did I tell you that? These things come and go, and change along the way. When I started blogging, the trend was quizzes– take them on another site and then share your results with some HTML code. (I have a post waiting in the wings about a quiz I took just yesterday. Something recent! Stranger things have happened, I guess.)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 07:24:54

      Wow..10 years! I don’t think it’s lazy. I did post last month and gave out awards like a crszy woman with no rules. I just hoped people would link back and say thanks is all. Some people were snotty, others grateful, a few were polite and said they didn’t accept which was ok by me for they were polite.

      Reply

  5. Bernice
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 12:34:22

    The awards are nice that someone thought of you. But I barely have enough time to blog and accepting awards is rather time consuming. I tend to break the rules by accepting several at a time and then re-awarding them as a group. But we each need to do what is best for us. Personally I would rather have people comment on my blog than give an award. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 11, 2014 @ 12:41:48

      Me too. That’s why I did the WooHoo…post. no rules and anyone who read the post and followed my blog were welcome to choose several of awards listed. I did keep one award and you can see why on my about page. It really does take time to follow up on awards, all the stuff that goes with them at times. I truly appreciate the ones given but, I’d rather someone comment. I’m going to be doing more of that myself.

      Reply

  6. gapark
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 16:02:13

    You said this extremely well. I agree 100%. Let’s be kind to each other.

    Reply

  7. Clowie
    May 23, 2014 @ 11:37:44

    I understand why you have chosen not to participate in awards. I’m not very good (understatement of the year!) at following the rules, but I don’t understand why anyone has to be rude about it if they don’t choose to accept.
    It pleases me that you’ve decided to keep the Inner Peace award – it does suit your blog well.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2014 @ 13:54:42

      Well Clowie, some bipeds are like some dogs – they weren’t raised very well and have no manners. Some people who refused very nicely said they didn’t and thanked me. that was fine with me. I thank you that you think the Inner Peace Award suits my blog. I am very proud of it and am always very happy you gave it to me and why. It helps me keep my blogging goals in sight. Date: Fri, 23 May 2014 15:37:47 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

