Throwback Thursday and Today in Romantic History

This morning as my husband went to work, he turned and said, “Do you know what today is?” I looked at him. I knew it wasn’t his birthday or our wedding anniversary. He started laughing and said, “Yep, that’s my romantic girl. Go over to your computer, after I leave” and out the door he went.  So I did. Queued up was the music video at the end of this post. Today, 15 years ago, he asked me to marry him. We had been dating a few months and after a slippery beginning (I forgot I had a lunch date with him and stood him up!), we had been doing well.

We found ourselves remarkably compatible, even though we were so very different and I had not allowed myself to feel for anyone in years, since the love of my life went back to his native Japan. Somehow, this shy, awkward, geeky, and intelligent accountant had managed to pull the stones from around my heart.

He asked me to go with him to try for his black belt in tae kwan do. I had been to some sessions with him before and had watched him spar. He did not fight like an accountant and for someone who had two left feet when it came to dancing, he was really good.

I went with him. He got his black belt (woo hoo!). We went out to lunch and after we were through, he asked me to go with him to his parents’ home. They were out of town and he had promised to check on the house for them. We did a walk through and when we were in the family room, he suddenly became very quiet. He started twitching. Then he said, “I need you to sit down here” and he sat me down in his grandmother’s rocker. My heart sank. I thought to myself, “He’s a nice guy and he is going to break up with me.  He doesn’t want to see me anymore and he is going to be nice about it.” I was surprised at myself that I actually cared about this.

“Now, just look over me, okay? I’m not very good but I have been working on this for a month”, and he went over to the piano, and played a couple of chords and began to sing. A good voice but a lousy piano player, however, knowing how much I like Rick Astley, he plunked some chords and began to sing, starting with the chorus first:

Together forever and never to part,
Together forever we two …

Logical, pragmatic, stone hearted me – melted. And when he was through, he came and on bended knee, asked me to marry him and then placed his grandmother’s engagement ring on my finger. Obviously I said “yes”.

I am still the logical one and he is still the full tilt romantic one. But today, I’m going to dance around my kitchen to this song. And when he gets home, I am going to take out my violin and play for him, “When I fall in love”.

I hope you all have a date in your romantic history that you remember as if you were there again. I hope it is a happy memory.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. machinist
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 16:11:36

    What a wonderful story! It sounds like something the Gentle Plague Fairy would love.

    This makes my day.

    Reply

  2. SirenaTales
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 16:58:09

    Oh, my! What a heartwarming, LOVEly story, beautifully and tenderly (and wryly) told. I am so happy for the two of you. LOVE: still the answer. I hope you have a ball dancing around your kitchen and playing the violin for your sweetie. xoxo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:29:44

      I’ve already had fun dancing and in between times fixing him a special dinner. I’ll play for him after we dine and begin to relax. He’s a sweet guy and will probably get teary but that’s why I love him.

      Reply

  3. Edward Hotspur
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 19:21:27

    Great story. I didn’t know my wife very long before we married. A little more than three months from introduction to marriage.

    Reply

  4. huntmode
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 00:42:17

    Kanzen, what a loving story – I am so glad you shared it, today of all days. And the image of you in the special rocking chair, at his parents’ house and his playing the piano and singing and going down on one knee to slip his grandmother’s engagement ring on your finger…. It so matches your southern heart and Japanese soul. So, I want to read the sequel tomorrow, please. 🙂 xxoo HuntMode – P.S. Enjoy the museum!

    Reply

  5. Jacqui Murray
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 12:42:41

    What a gorgeous story. I am in awe.

    Reply

  6. Clowie
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 04:40:48

    That’s a beautiful and romantic proposal.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

