Got Eggs? Eggs-ellent Egg Salad

 

A long time favorite at lunch counters, egg salad is a good way to use up dyed boiled eggs at Easter. Please use caution and safety and do not use eggs that have been off refrigeration for longer than six hours for any food purposes.

After Easter, hot summer weather seems to be on us before we have eaten the last Peep in the Easter Basket. I like to keep salads on hand for cool easy meals during hot weather. Southerners love cold plates. I call cold plates “Scoopa” Plates – scoopa egg salad, scoopa tuna or chicken salad, scoopa potato salad, pickled beets, cole slaw arranged on crisp green lettuce leaves. a slice of baguette on the side.  Egg salad is a staple item for quick lunches, impromptu company, open faced for special occasions.

Egg salad can be as plain or fancy as you wish. Below is my basic egg salad. You can leave out the mustard and use curry powder to season or add chopped pimiento stuffed olives, or chopped green onion. dill instead of chives, finely chopped dill or sweet pickle – customize this to suit yourself. Hollowed out cherry tomatoes stuffed with egg salad also make an excellent appetizer or party nosh. Use reduced fat mayonnaise instead of regular mayonnaise. If I am going to be serving immediately, I also like to peel and scoop out the good stuff of an avocado and mash along with the eggs. Avocado egg salad has a lovely pale green tint and is a fresh looking dip or spread for crackers and adds a whole different flavor layer to this basic dish.

Thank you Public Domain Images for photographs!

Ingredients
6 large hard boiled eggs. peeled and cooled
1/4 cup mayonnaise + 1 tbs
2 tsp. dijon mustard
1 medium-length celery stalk, finely chopped (about 3 tablespoons)
1 tablespoon finely chopped chives
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice (optional)
Salt and pepper to taste

Put eggs into a bowl and mash with a fork until as smooth or chunky as you choose. Add other ingredients and mix well. Use for egg salad sandwiches, dip or spread for crackers or for stuffing cherry tomatoes.

250px-Egg_salad_sandwich[1]    imagesYRTD5SBR   ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smilecalm
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 01:19:04

    what a yummy reason
    to buy some eggs 🙂

    Reply

  2. macjam47
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 05:09:52

    I love egg salad! Your recipe sounds yummy,

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 15, 2014 @ 10:31:43

      Thank you! Try some of the variations I suggested to make your own favorite blend. If you like avocados, try that variation. It’s really good and different, altough I wait to serve to a crowd because the avocado quickly goes brown.

      Reply

      • macjam47
        Apr 15, 2014 @ 11:05:14

        I love avocado, but that is one big drawback, especially since my husband doesn’t like them. I’ve tried all the tricks to keep them from browning and haven’t had a lot of luck.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 15, 2014 @ 11:09:08

          I know. They are one of those fee things best eaten quickly once cut. Even quacamole with all the acid from lime juice and tomatoes isn’t good for over a day. I really enjoy them but plan to eat quickly once I cut it.

          Reply

  3. Animalcouriers
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 08:33:47

    Our new chickens have just started laying – this looks like a great egg mayo recipe, like the addition of celery.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 15, 2014 @ 10:28:12

      It’s a great way to use up extra eggs and to share with other folks. It must be something with spring. A friend who raises free range vegetable fed chickens for eggs to sell brought me 3 dozen “extra” eggs as her hens went “layin” crazy as she says. Lol, I’ll be egg posting a lot next few days!

      BTW I really enjoy all your posts.

      Reply

  4. jaklumen
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 15:48:01

    I rarely follow a recipe strictly and so if I use this one, I shall omit the celery. (I have disliked raw celery since infancy.)

    We have russet potatoes, however, so it’s more likely we shall at least make a little tater salad.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 15, 2014 @ 16:21:16

      Hi. While similar in some ways, this recipe is for egg salad. It’s easy to customize, like leaving out celery. Here is the recipe I have used for years for potato salad and of course, leave out that celery! I use russet potatoes for all my potato dishes because…usually they gave good sales on them! You don’t even have to peel if you don’t want to but russet potato peels can be tough and bitter. if I get thin skinned potatoes – new, red, I won’t peel in this potato salad. Add carrots and or bell pepper if you want. I like to add drained pimientos . You can also use green onions if you prefer to regular onions.Neither my husband nor I like mustard in potato salad although I will add some dry ground mustard for a little bit of bite.

      2 lbs. potatoes (5 to 6 medium), peeled and cut into 3/4-inch chunks
      1 tbs. butter or margarine
      1 cup Mayonnaise
      2 Tbsp. vinegar
      1 1/2 tsp. salt
      1 tsp. sugar
      1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
      1 cup thinly sliced celery
      1/2 cup chopped onion
      2 hard-cooked eggs, chopped (optional)

      Cover potatoes with water in 4-quart saucepot; bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes. Drain and stir in margarine. Cool slightly.
      Combine mayonnaise, vinegar, salt, sugar and pepper in large bowl. Add potatoes, celery, onion and eggs and toss gently. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

      Reply

      • jaklumen
        Apr 15, 2014 @ 16:25:32

        Toni-san, I live in the land of russet potatoes. Although Idaho remains famous for its potatoes, the reality is that far more potatoes, russets especially (since they tolerate alkaline soils) are grown here in southeastern Washington.

        Cimmy already has a recipe she favors and that I love, that uses full-sour pickles, eggs, potatoes (russets or reds), sour cream, and bacon bits. I’m forgetting whether she uses mustard or not, but we really do prefer the combo of eggs, potatoes, bacon, pickles, regardless of whatever else she adds.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 15, 2014 @ 16:32:59

          Then there ya go….you got that recipe for potato salad already down. We all have our preferences – I only use eggs in egg salad….I like that russets are so versatile – baked, fired, salad-ed…russets are number 1 to me. I used to live on long island in an area that raised potatoes – you could go out in the field and glean for little or nothing. I can’t imagine living in russet land with them freshly dug…wow. My aunt only fixes german potato salad – won’t eat any other kind. Brad’s mother thinks potato salad is taters with mayo, mustard…period. Cimmy’s mix sounds like an interesting mix and has given me some ideas for future potato salad. I like playing with recipes.

          Reply

          • jaklumen
            Apr 15, 2014 @ 17:37:04

            There you go 🙂 I learned to improvise as a cook because I wanted to be able to open the pantry, fridge, and/or freezer and come up with something based on what I had on hand.

            Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 15, 2014 @ 17:24:44

          BTW – how are you doing?

          Reply

  5. Trackback: Egg Salad | Sock It To Me Training
  6. huntmode
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 22:34:46

    Oh Kanzen, this makes me hungry! Thank you! Going to make some right now!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

