Japanese Cotton Cheesecake

It is spring! Time for a wonderful and delicious Japanese dessert! Please enjoy.

kanzen sakura

cheesecake     cheesecake2

In the past, I have likened some desserts to a fairy princess, Southern Belle, expensive call girl, or empress.  This dessert is a prima ballerina – light, airy, delicate, but structured and sometimes difficult.  However, if handled correctly, you end up with a masterpiece.   This is a lovely dessert for any occasion.  With the advent of Spring, my heart (and tummy) turned to this dessert with longing.

Unlike heavy cheesy cheesecakes, Japanese cheesecakes are not as sweet and sort of a cross between a soufflé, a chiffon cake, a cheesecake.  “Cotton” in the name should tell you all you need to know.

IMPORTANT STUFF:  NO NO NO substitutions.  Use store-bought cake flour.  Use whole milk.  Butter, and superfine sugar.  If you can’t find any, grind some in your food processor or blender.  Sometimes superfine sugar is known as Bar Sugar.

Fold in well to ensure the…

View original post 343 more words

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaklumen
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 00:39:30

    Oh dear… how did you miss my postings of my daughter’s artwork? I have reblogged a post for you.

    Thank you for your kind comments, by the way, at Cimmy’s blog (note, it’s just one of her blogs– Princess has another piece, at Cimmy’s OTHER one, The Dragon’s Lair, as the header).

    Ironic– I respond in regards to a reblog, on a reblog. And, more on topic, I think I might successfully get Cimmy to try this recipe.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 17, 2014 @ 00:44:12

      Good. I will be so glad to see the Princess’s artwork. I do so much enjoy looking at kids’ work and how their minds reach out to the beyond. It was truly a lovely and interesting story.

      Reply

  2. FlaHam
    Apr 19, 2014 @ 18:00:21

    Kanzen, you have been so faithful to me and my blog, I wondered why I never saw anything you wrote. I follow those that follow. So I am a looking, and found that I had not hit the follow buttom, I do apologize. I just read this post and it touched me, it was so sweet. Thank you for sharing this moment. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  3. Clowie
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 08:48:55

    This sounds delicious!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 10:08:41

      It is. And since it id not so sugary and no chocolate , your bipeds might give you s treat. Oh! And yesterday, i was coming in from an errand and saw…..a woman walking her dog and it was just like you! We have a very quiet country lane with very little traffic and people from across the way frequently walk. But I was so excited I pulled my car over and jumpef out. The woman must have thought I was crazy but I dlowly approached smiling. I said, I have s friend who is a mountain dog and her name is Clowie. So she smiled and introduced me to Jack. He was very polite and friendly and smiled and let me pet him. I told him there was a very nice creek at the end of the right branch of the lane he might enjoy. So before I left, I asked if Jack liked hugs and she said, very much! So I gave him one and then, I pretended it was you and gave another. It made me feel so good. I hope I see Jack and his biped again. When I drove away, they were heading for the creek.

      Reply

      • Clowie
        Apr 22, 2014 @ 10:23:43

        It made me smile to think of Jack collecting the hug I can’t in person. I hope he enjoyed the creek! I know I would!
        I expect she is used to people approaching her and Jack. Lots of people come up to talk to me.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 22, 2014 @ 11:19:30

          Well, we don’t see many mountain dogs in this area so it is quite an event! I’m sure he did enjoy the creek. I had visited earlier. It was a bit high, but nice and clear and not moving fast, but nice and slow. It made me want to get in and enjoy! it gives me pleasure to think of Jack enjoying it and imagining how you would have likee it. The hug and the creek made you seem very close. It was a happy feeling. I am glad your bipeds share you with others. They can learn a lot from you. Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2014 14:23:46 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

