April 22, 1915: Poison Gas Used, 1970: First Earth Day

This is from a very interesting blog…This Day in Water History. Today, on Earth day, it is a good posting. Let us remember to be more respectful of and kinder to our home and to each other.

This Day in Water History

0422 Earth Day

April 22, 1970:The first nationwide Earth Day celebration is organized by Sen. Gaylord Nelson and Dennis Hayes. It creates a national political presence for environmental concerns. Millions of Americans demonstrate for air and water cleanup and preservation of nature.

April 22, 1915:The use of poison gas in World War I escalates when chlorine gas is released as a chemical weapon in the Second Battle of Ypres. Forevermore, chlorine is not considered a viable alternative disinfectant in Europe.

Commentary:  It is amazing that one graphic represents two entirely different events that were 55 years apart.

View original post

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Line
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 11:52:41

    Thank you very much for explaining this to me. I had never heard of Earth Day before.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 12:05:24

      It is an American thing….This day in Water History is also the way the blogger does a history of events in earth’s history. It is very interesting, or at least, I think so!

      Reply

  2. machinist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 13:25:07

    I honor your gentle spirit and compassion, though I would respectfully suggest that both references are in fact sad examples of politics and populism overwhelming science and reality to the detriment of both our home and the welfare of each other. They each represent cases worse than the famous Scopes Monkey trial and both led to greater harm. No offense intended, please forgive me if I speak out of turn.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 13:57:45

      No harm given and no offense taken! It is horrible examples like this that we need to be reminded of. I am old hippie child so sometimes, I revert back, lol. But truly, all I want is for folks to be kind to each other. I thank you for your comment and glad you gave your opinion. I like for people to do that, especially when an opinion is well grounded, courteous, and brings to light other thoughts.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 14:28:38

      And, as our Gentle Plague Fairy would say, Gentle Mac…my husband would have a smile at being considered gentle. Compassionate – yes. Gentle, not always. He often refers to me as his “onna-bugeisha” which is Japanese for Female Samurai. As a side note, I heard him on the phone speaking to someone about some wrong charges on a credit card…Sir, you had best get this settled with me. Trust me, you do not want to have this discussion with my wife. It is fairness on my part to tell you that she is onna-begeisha – Female Samurai. She is quick, deadly, and without mercy regarding the wielding of her katana. As for her words regarding a long going and onerous discussion such as this, her words are more deadly and quick and with less mercy than her sword. so..settle with me or I’ll turn you over to her. Apparently, the person understood for in less than 10 minutes, the thing was resolved. Gentle Mac, I am gentle to the helpless and the grieving. I am without mercy towards those would abuse such persons.

      Reply

  3. machinist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 14:51:24

    I would bet money that your noble husband would agree with my use of the word if he understood how I use it. As I think the Gentle Plague Fairy understands, I use the word as it is properly used in the term “gentleman”, not as indicating weakness or lack of strength, but the opposite. A gentleman must have the courage and strength of conviction and character to overcome his own weaknesses and stand up to the strength of others in defense of justice or honor. It is not the pacifist or the savage that stands up for the weak in the name of justice or right, but the warrior with the character and discipline to master himself and risk his very life in a just cause or to defend honor. No society that respected the individual and recognized an individual’s birthrights to justice and liberty was ever founded by those weak in character or unwilling to fight for what is right. The Gentle Plague Fairy is capable, tough, educated, disciplined, and one of the most courageous people I have met in my life. This is why I have long called her “Gentle Lady”..

    Cowards or people without principles are among the cruelest of people and cause the lion’s share of misery for themselves and others. There is nothing gentle in that.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 15:04:25

      He would most definitely agree. I think of gentle, as you say but rarely apply to myself. My husband is a noble and honorable man. I should perhaps amen my thinking for gentle and honorable as being the same quality. Our Gentle Lady is indeed all you say. I strive to become such and one day, with much discipline and heart, will attain. My husband, before we were married saw an instance where I put myself in harm’s way to stand between an innocent and a human beast. Because I was unarmed, he also inserted himself to protect and afterwards, fussed at me. But through the years, he remembers that and stands with me, although he doesn’t want to admit to being tender hearted. I guess it is a thing with some people, but he is learning!

      Reply

  4. machinist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 15:42:25

    Only the strong of character can truly be gentle hearted. The weak in spirit will cave to the strong or close their eyes to the plight of the weak. It takes courage to face reality and do what must be done in the face of threats of violence or political correctness.

    Reply

  5. machinist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 15:53:16

    Cyrano was better admired for his romantic eloquence and his poetry than his fighting skill. He is more often pictured under the balcony than fighting. He was known to challenge at the slightest hint of affront to his dignity, yet his greatest fight, where he demanded to face 100 men by himself, was in defense of a humble poet, and his bravest feats on the battlefield were to post his promised letters in Christian’s name.

    Reply

  6. huntmode
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 17:09:38

    What a fascinating conversation is going on here! I read your post, Kanzen, and while aware of both events, wasn’t too sure what to make of it, so wandered in to see what others were saying. Laughter! Best click of the day. Thank you both for allowing me to eavesdrop. I, too, want to be one of these brave warriors. I have done so on occasion and I hope and trust I shall continue to do so. 🙂 Salute to you both, HuntMode

    Reply

  7. machinist
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 17:58:36

    The gentle Kanzensakura is too kind. I suspect there is a bit of the “Being There” effect taking place. I make a simple and shallow comment and she sees a reflection of her own gentle and subtle intellect in it. Believe me I don’t have the education or background to be a gentleman, I just try to act as one should when I can. The Gentle Plague Fairy may have given you an over generous impression. I was a blue collar machinist, and old style manual machines at that. I barely got out of HS. Hanging around with better people polishes a few of the sharp edges and gives a better impression but it goes only skin deep.

    You have crafted a sublime and soothing garden here that calls forth thoughtful contemplation and discussion. I can’t tell you how grateful I am that you allow me to share it. The Gentle Lady created a similar effect with her Midnight threads on the forum where I met here. She described it as a virtual English drawing room, smelling of leather and fine pipe tobacco. It was quite lovely and to this day that thread and the traditions she started and fostered are still observed and honored every day on that forum in her memory.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 22, 2014 @ 19:15:40

      Until I retired last month, I dealt with engineers, some more, others less educated than myself. In other aspects and places of my life, I have dealt with many and varied persons. My father was a true and courtly gentleman who did not finish high school. An opposite, a man who had two PhDs in engineering from M.I.T and I’d a scion from a wealthy and family. The best I can say of him is that he is a well educated rectum. Education, geneology do not make someone a gentleman or gentlewoman. I am an educated engineer. I come from and old but decayed Southern family. I could be a talking rectum. But I try not to be and that is the bdifference. I grew up with persons who embarrassed me by their arrogance and hubris. It is our actions and our honor and compassion that make us gentle or, genteel. I know our Gentle Lady and her Knight think much of you. I like to think of my blog as a tea garden – simple but rich in tradition of fostering ideas and thoughts, comfortable and smelling of gardenias, fresh air, and green tea. You are always welcome.

      Reply

  8. purehaiku
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 08:47:00

    that is quite shocking – the disparity between the 2 dates…

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

