Wordless Wednesday – Azaleas in my yard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 15:51:12

    Wow! You’re so lucky. 🙂

    Reply

  2. seeker
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:02:04

    Are these from your garden?

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:05:43

      Yes. We have a total of 32 azaleas around our house and in our yard.

      Reply

      • seeker
        Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:06:28

        That’s awesome. We only have two.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:08:19

          The original homeowners planted them all in the mid-70’s. the soil in this area is acidic which they love, as you can see. I should probably post more pics as they are at their peak right now. The yellow-pinky ones were developed in Michigan for very cold temps and my husband planted those a few years ago to see how they would do in a warmer winter than Michigan. I think they like here in the South. Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:06:29 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • seeker
            Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:09:48

            I put used tea in ours to make it acidic and they love. I wish I have more places for plants.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Apr 23, 2014 @ 16:17:31

              I understand. I love having space for planting, especially tomatoes and other veggies! Many of the azaleas are taller than me – which isn’t saying much because I am only 4’10”. but many of them are about 7 feet tall. I refuse to let my husband cut them back and like the lovely old fashioned plants they are, they like growing along on their own.

              Reply

  3. macjam47
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 18:44:34

    They are gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. Enchanted Seashells, Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 20:38:40

    What beauty!

    Reply

  5. Line
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 22:17:55

    Oh, those flowers are so beautiful!!! There must be lots of fairies where you live, I mean, to make the flowers so beautiful!

    Reply

  6. el34ax7
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 06:08:29

    So your hanami wasn’t anything to ‘sneeze’ at, I see! Gorgeous!

    AB

    Reply

  7. FlaHam
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 06:56:19

    Kanzen, When we lived in northern Virginia, my wife had several different varieties of Azaleas planted in our yard. They grew to different heights, had different colored flowers, and by far one of my most favorite flower in our yard. We have even manged to grow some here in Florida, they seem to do almost good in the darkness coolest part of the yard. Take care, Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 24, 2014 @ 15:21:13

      I’m so glad you have the azaleas to flower and make pretty places. My mother lives in a retirement community and people plant all around their trailers – lemon trees, different palms, flowers, and many have at least one color of azalea going. We have double and single bloom varieties plus several of the Northern Lights colors. My husband planted those. They were developed in Michigan to grow in much colder temps and low acid soil. Different types of colours – peachy, yellow, orange. Interesting. The original builders of our home planted all the azaleas in the lat 60’s/early 70’s. Because of all the pines around, the azaleas do great – shady or sunny. We have 32 around the house and yard. I’ve noticed early hummingbirds already starting to check out the red and fuschia ones. It is such a joy! Some are over 7 ft. tall. In my 4’10” state, I feel dwarfed by them. I hope you are doing well. We are supposed to have rain next week which will hopefully do away with all this ton of pollen. I hardly dare venture outside without a mask and only stay a little bit of time. but it is worth it to see the spring beauty. I’m in Richmond, just a little south of NOVA.

      Reply

  8. gpcox
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 08:01:56

    Awesome photo array! You most definitely have a green thumb! :mrgreen:

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 24, 2014 @ 10:55:59

      I wish I could take the credit. These were planted by the original builders of the house back in late 60’s/early 70’s. The soil in our yard, due to all the pine trees, is highly acidic, which azaleas love. Every year in the fall though, I go out in the woods and get pine needles and naturally composted soil full of leaf and needle loam and put around them. We have 32 of them around the yard, many of them over 7 feet . azaleas love the south because of often iron and acid rich soil – the same things that give us such kick butt tomatoes, not bland ones. There are many azelea festivals in the south, particularly Wilmington, NC, also home of the Decommissioned USS Carolina. Here in Richmond, we have the beautiful Bryan Park. You may want to Google images of the festival or other festivals. Who knows, even though the Atlantic, you may also find some interesting military history! Uboats were also spotted and sunk in the graveyard of the Atlantic. Fort Macon, on Atlantic Beach is ancient and subterranean. A young engineer, Robert E. Lee designed jetties there, still holding back sand erosion and acting as docking points to this day. Sorry to talk so much. 🙂

      Reply

      • gpcox
        Apr 24, 2014 @ 11:01:34

        No problem, love to hear it. I did have a post on German subs found or attacked along the US and Canadian coastlines, but I’m always open to more stories! Thanks.

        Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

