Chicken with Garlic Sauce – Myazaki Prefecture

It seems to be Reblog Monday!!! This is one of my first Japanese recipes posted. I hope y’all enjoy. This is good any time of the year.

kanzen sakura

This is one of those recipes that someone is going to say isn’t “authentic”, doesn’t sound Japanese, whatever.  I was given this recipe by a Japanese engineer who is here in America working with a nuclear power company.  This is from the Miyazaki Prefecture in Kyushu Island.  He assures me this is delicious any time of year and makes the house smell wonderful.  He had called to ask me “huge favor” – how to make American Fruit “Cottler”?  I told him I would be most honored to provide him the recipe and that it would be good with all kinds of fruit.  To show his gratitude, with a great deal of courtesy (and I could sense some homesickness), he shared one of his favorite home style dishes in return. They often add a pickled cabbage salad and rice for this meal.  I think it sounds a lot like Southern barbecued chicken…

View original post 316 more words

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

