Simple Saturday – Sunomono and Miso Baked Chicken

I am reblogging two favorite spring and summer dishes. If you haven’t tried eating or making Japanese food, start with these – simple, elegant, easy.

kanzen sakura

300px-Sunomono[1]

I buy white miso paste in a tube so I can always have it on hand and keep in the fridge after opening.  This is a yummy dish and tasty any time of year.  In the summer, to avoid oven heat, I will prepare in a well seasoned, oiled cast iron skillet.  I start on medium heat and after about 3 minutes, turn heat to low.  Because of the mirin and sugar content, be aware of food burning easily.  You know your stove so cook accordingly and keep an eye out.  This is also good room temperature.  I slice the chicken and add over mixed greens, julienned carrots and celery, green onion,with a zipper ginger vinaigrette.  This Japanese home cooking at its best.  Something you may not find in a restaurant, but certainly in someone’s home.  You can grill of course, but again, beware of the burn factor.

Sunomono is kept…

View original post 386 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FlaHam
    May 09, 2014 @ 11:31:29

    Kanzen, I keep reading your blog I will weigh a ton by the end of the summer. But mumm mumm good. Take care, Bill

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

