Friday Fun…Spontaneous Acts of Grocery Aisle Dancing.

My husband and I love to dance. We are big on ballroom dancing and we really like it when we can indulge in spontaneous acts of dance.

Several years ago, we were both of us tired out from a mutually hard day at work and both of us had worked after hours. We stopped at a local grocery chain to pick up a few necessary items. The store was almost empty. We were moseying down an aisle just sort of in a tired trance. At one end of the aisle was a hugely pregnant woman looking at cereal. Her husband was at the opposite end of the aisle looking at protein bars. The muzak was ubiquitous as usual but then, out of the blue, Every Breath You Take, began drifting around us. The man came sashaying down the aisle as if we were invisible. Within a few feet of his wife, he held out his arms and began crooning, “Come to me, my melon belly baby”. She went to him and he enfolded her and they began to waltz slowly to the music.

My husband and I stood entranced. The couple was not even vaguely self-conscious. When the song ended, they continued with their shopping and went down the next aisle. My husband and I were delighted and no longer tired. When the muzak version of Shake Your Booty started up, we were in the cleaning products aisle, all by ourselves. We looked at each other and in a blink, we were quick stepping up and down the aisle.

This has become a regular thing with us now. The last act of aisle dancing was last month, in another grocery, at 9:00 am in the morning. A couple of people were in the aisle with us, but we had plenty of room to Mambo to “Love is in the Air” – a favorite and even on Muzak, a darned good dance number. After a moment, a woman and her little girl joined us – twirling and bouncing with much laughter.  We so love dancing and especially with each other.  Ballroom dancing is a vital part of our romance with each other.  Tango, Paso Doble, Mambo, Waltz….each dance an expression of love and joy in each other.  And the spontaneous dance – I wish more people did these spontaneous acts of love and fun.

“Love is in the Air” is one of our favorites and is on a regular rotation in our Kitchen/Ballroom.  We stopped worrying about people thinking we were crazy long ago.  Love is in the air, in the grocery aisle, in the hardware store, in Walmart, in the apothecary, in the parking lot…

Love is in the air everywhere I look around – Love is in the air every sight and every sound – And I don’t know if I’m being foolish – I don’t know if I’m being wise – But it’s something that I must believe in – And it’s there when I look in your eyes. . . . (songwriters, Pennington/Lemaire, Performed by Paul Young). The dance sequence is from one of our favorite movies, Strictly Ballroom.

So again I say to you, let’s dance!

 

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Line
    May 09, 2014 @ 00:46:02

    I am also dancing now to this music!! Yaaay!! 🙂 🙂 How fun!! Twirling, twirling, jumping, jumping, swinging my white lace skirt around, oooooo it’s a twriling-skirt, it flies!! Yaaayy!! sining now : LOOOOVE IS IN THE AAAIR!! Wooo-hoooo!! skip, skip, hoppety-hop, lalalallalall! don’t know the lyrics…lalalal….something I must believe in..lalalala…LOVE IS IN AAAIR!!! 😀 😀 😀 oh, I wanna go again!!

    Reply

  2. Kev
    May 09, 2014 @ 03:00:31

    That’s really cool, you and your husband dance. Wish I could dance. 😀

    Reply

  3. SirenaTales
    May 09, 2014 @ 09:06:24

    Love it! Yay you and your husband–and the universe. My version of this is spontaneously dancing solo in public places. I call it Flashmob of 1 or Flashmobsoloing (catch the irony?). When we have gone on extended road trips, I’ve made a practice of dancing in the rest stops and “oases.” It feels terrific and has led to some pretty fun adventures. Dance on, my friend! For love is indeed in the air.

    Reply

  4. hungryhungryhippo404
    May 09, 2014 @ 10:22:30

    Totally love that you used a clip from Strictly Ballroom! ❤

    Reply

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 09, 2014 @ 11:00:42

    You warm my heart. You truly do! Hope you never stop. I loved the movie, Strictly Ballroom. Now I want to watch it again. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  6. FlaHam
    May 09, 2014 @ 11:44:51

    Kanzen, Okay Okay, so you caught me trying to do the boot scootin boogie while shopping, I really didn’t think anyone noticed. LOL LOL. I hope you have a great day, take care, Bill

    Reply

  7. macjam47
    May 09, 2014 @ 14:30:22

    I love it! You and your husband are lucky to be free of inhibitions. Keep on dancing.

    Reply

  8. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 09, 2014 @ 18:43:23

    Dancing is another one of those brilliant activities that reaps powerful benefits for our bodies and we get all those other marvelous benefits as well. I love this blog and the cheerfulness it invokes. My theory – dancing is for everyone.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 09, 2014 @ 19:00:39

      Yes it is!!! No matter your age or ability, dancing is good for you. I visited a friend in a rehab facility and wheeled her down to lunch. over in one side of the huge room, seniors and younger folk rehabbing, were in a circle – chair dancing! They were doing a “line” dance to Honky Tonk Bedonka-donk when we went in. it was great seeing those white haired frail little ladies wiggling, doing “lassos”, moving their feet to that song. We went and joined them. It was a ton of fun. Date: Fri, 9 May 2014 22:43:25 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  9. jaklumen
    May 11, 2014 @ 02:26:59

    Strictly Ballroom was a FABULOUS movie.

    I wish I could afford ballroom dance instruction. A woman in our congregation has some renown as an instructor, if the money was just there, I’d be involved in a heartbeat… well, if the pain was gone, too…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 11, 2014 @ 04:05:21

      I was actually an instuctor for a bit. I loved it. You would be surprsed as to what you can find on YouTube. Also, watching competitions helps too. You want to change your center of balance to your abdomen, not hold your knees tight and be on the balls of your feet. In other words, not move as a typical man. Keep yourback straight and shoulders back, not up around your ears. Extend your arm movements, letting your hands carry your arm all the way out. Use your knees to roll your hips. Hold your frame through all the steps. You can actually sit in a chair and practice some of these things. Musicality is important, the beat, rythm, and tone of the music. A lot of rehab and senior centers have begun doing chair dancing. Low low impact but good for getting rythm, beat, tone, moving your feet, arms, shoulders without standing and putting stress on your back. Ihave fibromyalgia and am in constant pain. Dancing helps loosen me up and gets those endorphins going to ease pain and depression. But in your situation, medical advicecould tell you if minimal chair dancing would cause harm. Check out some ballroom tapes or cds from the library and watch how they move. You’ll pick up stuff just by watching. The old fred astaire and ginger rogers taught me a lot when i was a kid and they’d comeon tv. Its fun to get kids involved and teaches them a different type of discipline. Ina chair, you can still move your feet and arms, be aware of your hip movement and arm movements, and rythm and musicality. You don’t have to move everything all over the place to dance. I can do a mean rhumba and still be in my chair. Check out some dance tapes, especially the nice cheerful ones. On ABC’s website, Dancing w\the Stars has an exercise dance thing w/louie van amstel, excellent dancer and choreographer. It doesn’t cost like an expensive instructor snd would be low impact…transferring stand up dancing to chair dancing.

      Reply

  10. huntmode
    May 22, 2014 @ 01:02:11

    Kanzen! I loved this one! When I come to visit, we’re going to rock the aisles – might knock over some cans though!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 22, 2014 @ 09:57:29

      They do frown upon can knocking. We’ve been able to get by with dancing, but they do not like their stuff knocked about. I feel like, if they don’t want stuff knocked over, then they jolly well need to keep the aisles clear, but that’s just my opinion.

      Reply

  11. Clowie
    May 23, 2014 @ 11:22:53

    What a lovely way to brighten up a grocery store!

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

