Strawberry Cobbler – Mother’s Day Treat

images63F91KQL

This is a simple strawberry cobbler. We usually think of strawberry shortcake, ice cream, strawberries and cream, cold glazed strawberry pie, or strawberries mixed with rhubarb in pies or cobblers. Rarely, do we think of a baked strawberry pie or cobbler. During strawberry season, this was on regular rotation for desserts in our family. It always made its first appearance for Mother’s Day dinner.

Many times, my mother and I would drive to one of the local strawberry farms for several buckets of sweet, sun warmed strawberries. The bucket would go on the seat between us – beautiful fragrant fruit rubies. On the way home, we’d dip into the bucket and eat them as they were. We’d comment about how sweet, how juicy, how large and luscious! By the time we got home, probably a quart was missing and our lips and fingers were stained red with the juice. My mother and/or I would put this together after church on Sunday and by the time the family was through demolishing Sunday dinner and after my mother and grandmother had opened their cards and gifts, this cobbler would be ready.

Halfway through dinner, we had to sit and smell this glorious cobbler as it filled the kitchen with its sweet fragrance. My Papa would hop up and pull it out of the oven and let it settle a couple of minutes. He’d then dish it out and give first serves to Mama and Ninny, then my aunts and him and I last. So good! Buttery, warm, rich, tangy and sweet. Top with whipped cream or ice cream but it is good on it’s own.

Happy Mother’s Day! Don’t let Strawberry Season pass by without fixing this cobbler.

Fresh Strawberry Cobbler
Ingredients
1 – cup Self-Rising Flour
1 – Egg, slightly beaten
1 – Quart Fresh Strawberries
3/4 cup of White Sugar
1/2 cup of Brown Sugar
1/2 stick Unsalted Butter, melted.

Instructions

Preheat Oven to 350 Degrees:
Wash berries under cool running water. Remove hulls and any bad spots. Drain. Sprinkle 1/4 cup of White Sugar on the Strawberries, toss gently, set aside.
Generously Butter a 2 Quart Casserole-Baking Dish.
Add strawberries and set aside.
In another bowl, add Flour, Brown Sugar, remaining White Sugar and one slightly beaten Egg.
Work the Flour, Sugars and Egg together until crumbly, using a fork.
Place topping over Strawberries, spread evenly over berries.
Melt the Butter and drizzle over the topping.
Bake at 350 degrees, for about 30-45 minutes until crust is browned and cobbler is bubbly.

imagesDXAMLAU7

Photos courtesy of Public Domain Images

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 09, 2014 @ 19:56:27

    I have never used self-rising flour but I’m sure I can find some. We have a store called The Bulk Barn where everything can be purchased by the cup, thimble, teaspoon, herbs, spices, flours, beans, nuts, sugars, flours, rice combinations, grains, natural peanut butter, etc. etc. etc. To me, this is wonderland. 😀

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 09, 2014 @ 19:59:48

      just use regular and add a bit of salt and baking soda to it. That store sounds like Wonderland! Imagine needing a tsp. of something odd and not having to buy a whole package of it. that is a wonderful idea. Date: Fri, 9 May 2014 23:56:28 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        May 10, 2014 @ 11:04:26

        Thanks for the tip. I like to learn new stuff.

        I agree about buying only how much you need, except for having to go shopping to get it. Always fresh. Always something new to discover. I have more fun food shopping than in a department store. 😀

        Reply

  2. macjam47
    May 09, 2014 @ 20:10:28

    This looks amazing. I love strawberry anything, anytime.

    Reply

  3. J.E. Hannon-Cropp
    May 10, 2014 @ 14:30:04

    Hi there, I’m Jo. I was recently nominated for a Liebster Award, you can google it, it’s a thing.
    Anyway from what I understand the whole idea is to spread the love a little bit around WordPress by sharing some writers I enjoy with the people who follow my page.

    Below is the link to my post where I talk about the award and nominate you. I hope you take part., cause it’s fun and stuff.

    http://jojoknowseverything.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/on-liebster-awards-chain-mail-and-community/

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 10, 2014 @ 14:40:01

      Hi Jo! thank you so much for nominating me. I deeply appreciate your nominating and honoring my blog with the Liebster award. I have stopped accepting awards, but your nomination and mention on your blog makes me truly happy and grateful. Congratulations on receiving the Liebster. It is a very special award so I am glad your blog was given this. Please keep visiting me. I like the company. Blessings. I have a dear friend named Jo, so this makes it extra special.

      Reply

  4. FlaHam
    May 11, 2014 @ 16:55:57

    Kanzen, yum yum, for my wife I am cooking steak (on the grill) at her request. We will have baked potatoes and a salad. Dessert will be a brownie smoothered with ice cream. But your dessert sounds great. Take care, Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 11, 2014 @ 17:34:54

      Your dinner sounds like major yum….what a sweet guy you are! My sweetie to me to Waffle House this morning for breakfast. I thanked him for his hard work, lol. Our mothers and grandmothers are so special, aren’t they? Rose growers, pie bakers, seam sewers, tear wipers, award winning huggers….I’ve tried calling my mom several times today. I have a feeling she and her roommate are out and about in Mulberry town and beyond. Date: Sun, 11 May 2014 20:56:00 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

