The best use of life is love….Mother’s Day (USA)

To those of you who are mothers, to those of you who nurture, love, and mentor those who are not your own children by birth:  Happy Mother’s Day to you all.  Bless you!

And a shoutout to my mother, my two aunts, and to my grandmother who is now in heaven.  Thank you for all the love and support you have given to me so unselfishly and unconditionally.

The best use of life is love. The best expression of love is time. The best time to love is now. (Rick Warren)

images[5]

Public Domain Vintage Images

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 09, 2014 @ 12:59:27

    Love the quote by Rick Warren even though I have no idea who he is / was. 🙂
    Perfect for everyday.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 09, 2014 @ 13:06:12

      He is a Christian pastor who wrote the book, Purpose Driven Life….excellent writer, modern theologian, all about putting Christianity into action for all, just as Christ did.

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        May 09, 2014 @ 18:05:49

        Hmm. I m.i.g.h.t. have a copy. I believe someone gave me a copy but I haven’t read it. Must look farther as cannot find in my bookcases.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 09, 2014 @ 18:51:52

          It is an excellent read. When it first came out, a lot of churches had “40 days of Purpose” where the book was studied and discussed. Excellent excellent book. Date: Fri, 9 May 2014 22:05:50 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            May 10, 2014 @ 10:52:30

            It’s probably in one of my non-sorted bookcases.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              May 10, 2014 @ 11:49:36

              Lol, mine is in my theology section.

              Reply

              • Let's CUT the Crap!
                May 10, 2014 @ 12:07:40

                I have too many books and not enough book cases. The ones I’ve adopted in the past three years aren’t properly shelved…not enough room etc. 🙂

                Reply

                • kanzensakura
                  May 10, 2014 @ 12:57:26

                  Last year, I got rid of…..350 cookbooks. Just cookbooks alone. I gave my friends first dibs and let them pick what they wanted. The rest were donated to the local library, vet hospital, women’s shelters. The other books – fiction, history, science, engineering, etc. over a 1,000 unloaded to the same sources and salvation Army. I went through and did a lot of weeding out. I still probably have about 1000 books but being way too anal, they are dewey decimaled and alphabetized. Not to mention, on my kindle? 1500 books there already. A lot of them are books that would have been too expensive to buy otherwise – like the 1500 page Oxford Archeological textbook for old testament history. Yeah, I’m a book nut. I admit. I admit I am powerless over book acquiring. I’ll probably get rid of more books this summer. Date: Sat, 10 May 2014 16:07:40 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                  Reply

                  • Let's CUT the Crap!
                    May 10, 2014 @ 14:18:33

                    Yes, I say I will weed my stash out too and get rid of second copies or books I now realize I will never read. I volunteer at a charity bookstore. Most of my books go to and come from there. I’m down to 2600 right now. I know, I can’t help myself.

                    Reply

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 10, 2014 @ 14:52:07

                      Yeppers. I know that feeling well. Since I was “retired”, I’ve spent a full day sorting and rearranging books. I now have my antique and first editions in one case, the fiction and general stuff in several more cases, and my “learning” books sorted and in more cases. Many of the books I got rid of are on my Kindle so it is no use to have them in hard form. some of my cookbooks that were inherited and have the notes made in precious handing writing of my mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother will of course, not leave the house until I’m dead. Since things like the Betty Crocker and such are on my kindle and easier to search through in that form, other cookbooks similar, are now being enjoy by my friends and some of the children of my friends. The Women’s shelter appreciates and uses all of these for women making a new life and needing resources and of course, the centers for the Vets are always begging for all kinds of stuff to read or be looked through. I am happy to share with them. Most of the time, if I haven’t cracked it open and read at least 1/4 of it in a year, the rule is – bye bye. I always have about 8 books on my night stand in addition to the Kindle, all in various states of being read and often, re-read.

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 11, 2014 @ 10:28:35

                      Ah, a lady after my own heart. All I want is more time to read. Maybe I should sleep less…

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 11, 2014 @ 11:01:05

                      Actually, I have a problem with my circadian rhythms and have had since a child. I can operate on 2-4 hours of sleep a night. I often write at night and read. You’ll see some of my poems entitled something like 12/21/12 12:21 am….for example. I sit on my back steps a lot in all kinds of weather. As a little girl, I climbed out my bedroom window and would shinny down the tree and play in the yard or hang out and when I became a teenager, sneak the car out of the drive and ride around. / Date: Sun, 11 May 2014 14:28:38 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 11, 2014 @ 11:45:30

                      When I met you, you were sitting outside look at the sky, sleepless. ❤

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 11, 2014 @ 11:47:07

                      Yeppers. I remember being like this since I was like 6. There is a new medication but hey, they have meds for everything nowadays. I’d rather sit and look at the stars :-)….or read!!!!

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 12, 2014 @ 13:29:18

                      Stars ARE entrancing and peaceful. 😉

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 12, 2014 @ 15:43:20

                      Yes they are. I spend so many nights watching them. the neighbor behind, now that he realizes I am out often at night and that the telescope isn’t for spying, now ignores me and, something that needed to be done a couple of years ago, he keeps his dog up at night instead of letting it wander about the neighborhood as he did. The dog is not very socialized and has several times, while intruding in my yard, jumped at me or began barking loud enough to probably wake you! So, now it is peace and calm as it should have been and was before he and his wife and dog moved in. Date: Mon, 12 May 2014 17:29:19 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 13, 2014 @ 11:28:32

                      Thank goodness for small mercies. Imagine a d.o.g. causing a ruckus when HE should be asleep so a body can get lost in the stars. In peace.

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 13, 2014 @ 14:52:27

                      The poor thing barks at everything, all day and a lot at night. he mainly just hangs out in the back yard by himself. Why people get a dog to never socialize with is something I will never understand. Date: Tue, 13 May 2014 15:28:34 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 13, 2014 @ 15:16:39

                      That is cruel. A dog need love too and always outside. Wrong. wrong. wrong.

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 13, 2014 @ 15:31:24

                      I know. he is well fed and has a nice house and place to get from the weather. the yard is large and shady. His owner is too busy playing in his band in the garage and dealing meth. I’ve called the cops twice but apparently, he has a police scanner because as soon as I call, the people scatter. I’ve asked them to check the dog but since it is only him being lonely and not well fed, watered, and a good place to be, that’s all the cops will deal with. Same with Humane society. the dog has to be almost dead before anyone will do anything. and that is WRONG!!!!!! makes me so very angry. I’ve tried talking to the dog when he is wandering at night but he is very skittish. Date: Tue, 13 May 2014 19:16:41 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 13, 2014 @ 17:01:08

                      I’d be skittish too living in an somewhat unpredictable love me / love me sometimes relationship.
                      I’m not a dog person but I feel for the poor thing.

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 13, 2014 @ 17:11:40

                      I do too. the poor thing has been over there for a couple of years, as a puppy. he’s grown up just being fed and in the yard. I hate humans sometimes.

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 13, 2014 @ 18:02:44

                      I’m not a dog person, but in a situation like this…

  2. FlaHam
    May 09, 2014 @ 13:29:39

    Kanzen, It is with great pleasure I salute you. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  3. BloomLisa
    May 09, 2014 @ 14:28:48

    What a beautiful quote by Rick Warren, I am going to have to use that one!!! Be well

    Reply

  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 09, 2014 @ 18:32:05

    A special tribute, Kanzen. Always a pleasure to read with you and I love coming away from a blog with ‘food for thought.’

    Reply

  5. wilsonagaba
    May 22, 2014 @ 19:18:44

    Thank you for the beautiful appreciation you expressed, it’s very touching. Also love the quote!

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

