We Need a Cure

I have fibromyalgia. This is from Greeneyedchess blog. Please help spread the awareness about Fibromyalgia.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chess
    May 11, 2014 @ 23:37:33

    Thank you so much for the reblog 🙂

    Reply

  2. seeker
    May 11, 2014 @ 23:41:28

    Kanzen, I will wear purple for you and the rest of the people that are inflicted with this disease. Love and Prayers. Perpetua.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Purple Day | The Seeker
  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 12, 2014 @ 03:39:36

    Kanzen – I had no idea what fibromyalgia was until a nasty auto accident in 1994. Now it never leaves me alone. Hugs my friend.

    Reply

  5. FlaHam
    May 12, 2014 @ 05:50:02

    Kanzen,. I will dig into the closet I am sure I have something appropriate to wear. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 12, 2014 @ 09:25:52

    I will wear purple every day. Keep well my friend. Hugs.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: We Need a Cure | twohp's adventures in the League of Legends
  8. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    May 13, 2014 @ 09:50:10

    Sending purple hugs out to you and all who need it in this world. Joining in hoping for a cure.

    Reply

  9. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    May 13, 2014 @ 09:50:21

    Joining in.

    Reply

  10. jaklumen
    May 14, 2014 @ 02:35:24

    Sorry I missed this one– but I think the research would benefit more than just fibro sufferers– I think it would benefit those with multiple sclerosis (MS), transverse myelitis (which my father has) and other conditions that nerve and muscle disorder touches on.

    Time to dig out that purple T-shirt, or see if it’s been laundered lately

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 14, 2014 @ 03:34:28

      The research will definitely help but moreso, awareness. My husband wore his purple polo and socks.

      Reply

      • jaklumen
        May 14, 2014 @ 06:50:00

        Preaching to the choir here, of course.

        Have you heard of Christine Miserandino’s But You Don’t Look Sick website and The Spoon Theory?

        “Invisible” illness issues have been important to me for a very long time– my father has been sick since 1992 that we know of, for one.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 14, 2014 @ 11:21:30

          It took so many years for Drs to accept this as a “real” diseases…they acted like it was something I was making up even though they knew and spoke of fibromyalgia but they just didn’t accept it was something that was real. I said, like PMS used to be fluffed at? My dr hemmed and hawed and finally said, yes, but PMS is real. I said so is Fibromyalgia. I remember when I was given a “real” diagnosis of it. But I rarely complain about pain, fatique, or depression or bad night’s sleep. I just try to push on through and keep going regardless. It’s the way I am wired. My mother, bless her and mother-in-law, complain enough for 6 people about their problems. Date: Wed, 14 May 2014 10:50:01 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • jaklumen
            May 14, 2014 @ 14:17:43

            I admire those people that are able to put on a brave front and do their best to be pleasant despite the pain– I’m still asking my father how he does it. “Lots of practice,” was one thing he said.

            I shared the Spoon Theory with him years ago, and I recall him saying he shared it with his TM group and they loved it. It’s very nice that the Internet is giving us ways to show solidarity, especially when some people are still ignorant and it’s difficult to get treatment.

            I fought for over 25 years to just get my psychiatric treatment right– I think I’m a little more bold in saying what I need for pain treatment, but it’s still a challenge.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              May 14, 2014 @ 17:11:18

              Good for you! Asking for what you need is often hard and I am glad you are doing that. I was raised 9being forntunate to have loving and supportive family about me, but still eccentric and some issues) to be independent and stand up for myself. I’m often very quiet and especially in the job I did for 23 years and was very political, to be more passive and savvy and keep my head down, especially the past 2 two years. But when I left, I leveled on them, I am glad to say. But it is still hard to make your needs felt. The friend of mine who was raised in abusive hell often said, she faked it until she made it. The way she forged ahead and reclaimed herself, has always been an example and role model for me. Your father is right – lots of practice. it’s cool he was able to share it with his group. Sometimes, I just get so emotionally and spiritually tired of keeping myself going, putting one foot in front of the other, pushing through. But everytime I do, I know I have done something good for myself that no one can take away. Keep up the good work. Keep asking for what you need. I am proud of you. Date: Wed, 14 May 2014 18:17:46 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

              Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 14, 2014 @ 11:17:03

      invisible and perceptions people are using excuses – it is hard but finally, word is getting out there. so many people suffering and until recently, looked at as slackers, hypochondriacs, excuse makers….yeah, been through that.

      Reply

  11. huntmode
    May 22, 2014 @ 00:47:49

    Kanzen, just now catching up and I see your simple statement, “I have fibromyalgia.” We have emailed much over the past couple of months and I did not know this. I worked with someone back in the early 2000’s who had it before it was truly recognized or acknowledged. She passed away maybe four years or more ago. I think of her as someone who led the charge before others knew there was a battle. You go right to the top of my prayer list. You were already there, hon, but I shall be sounding loud the trumpet of, “Oh, and God? Take care of Kanzen. Thank you! Because she is a good person, a splendid friend, a wonderful cook, and more important, she believes in You, God.” and I shall threaten to make Him deaf with my reasons. xxoo HuntMode (That should do it.)

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

