is world really a dangerous place?

Okay. so this broke my heart. I hope it helps you all know that the biggest sin and evil is to not to anything – to do nothing. We can’t save the world, but we can save pieces of it. Again, the kindness of unstrangers will always win over evil. But we can’t sit on our butts and wag ours and sigh.

A Small Act Of Kindness Can Bring Smile On Million Faces

image

kindly reblog the lovely message.

View original post

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaklumen
    May 18, 2014 @ 01:12:07

    Done, Toni-san. I would say this is evil of omission, rather than comission.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 18, 2014 @ 01:35:55

      you got it. When I pray, I ask God’s forgiveness of my sins of omission and commission.

      Reply

      • jaklumen
        May 18, 2014 @ 02:00:02

        I find myself again praying to forgive… because I just can’t find it in me. Too many people that think forgiveness means an automatic renewal of trust, to people who have expressly violated it.

        I don’t want to be angry… and yet I am. I can still remember my last therapist’s words ringing in my ears– to be mad at mortals still means that I am mad at God.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 18, 2014 @ 13:48:18

          I disagree with your therapist. The inability to forgive does not show anger at God in and of itself. it simply shows that the issue is not resolved yet, that the person has not come to terms with the incident, and/or is not willing to forgive at that point. I have been angry at people and at peace with God. Or rather, in my relationship with God, because I was not angry at God but at humans, I prayed to God to create in me a forgiving heart, a forgiving spirit, to forgive others as He forgave me. I have prayed for acceptance or deeper understanding of a situation. And that just because I forgave, it did not mean all was forgotten. I think many times people have the concept that forgiveness means all is hokey dokey, fine, no longer causing hurt, no longer giving forgetfulness, trusting and forgetting of a person/incident. There are still other issues to be dealt with. Forgiving I think, means we have reached a point and are ready to move forward in the process. Forgiveness may need to be given in different ways at various stages of healing from a situation. Being angry at God is a totally separate thing from being angry at a person. Again, the ability to not forgive is not the same thing as being angry at God. We can forgive someone and still be angry at them. yes, that is true. We forgive as humans forgive, with human understanding. it is up to us to speak with God, to pray, to ask for the forgiving heart and spirit, to ask the Holy Spirit to guide us to that forgiving state, to look at Jesus and His example of forgiveness. On the cross, He asked God to forgive those who had tortured him. Many times, we have to let go and walk forward by the Grace of God, to grow, to recognize how not forgiving hurts us more than it hurts the person who wronged us. We do not have to love or like the person, per se. But we do need to work and strive for forgiveness. God gives us that strength but we have to be open to Him, to study His holy word, to meditate on those words, to pray, to humble ourselves before Him and to be willing to listen in our hearts to Him and to do His will. It is ultimately our decision to put ourselves in the position to forgive and to ask God’s help in the forgiveness of others. When Jesus was asked how many times should someone forgive someone else, He gave the (in context of those times and culture) the Jewish theological answer of seven times. But He also answered that in His way, through His Father, and with His Father’s infinite grace and forgiveness, to forgive seventy times seven – to go beyond a learned response, to go past the Mosaic law into a new law (the law in the new testament, so to speak) and to infinitely forgive. It doesn’t say to be a doormat, to not be angry about the situation, to think everything is fine, it just means to open the heart and spirit to forgiveness, as God forgives us. Sorry. We have been studying New Testament theology as opposed to Mosaic law in my Sunday school class. My teens have been very interested in this subject and I have been having to do much reading in the Holy Bible and among scholars such as Wesley, Spurgeon, etc. for their takes. And also putting to use my Greek and Hebrew to look at the original texts and pull out the words as they were written in the language of the time. I was angry at God for allowing my father to die years ago. Angry for years. I was not angry at humans, I was angry at God. They have shared instances in their lives with which they are having problems forgiving and working through them. A sister and brother told of how their mother sold them as prostitutes in Cambodia when they were 4 and 7, until their uncle went back to Cambodia and brought them here to the US at the ages of 11 and 15. They are having a hard time forgiving their mother. They are doing well. They carry scars on their bodies and in their souls, but they look in faith to their Lord Jesus and to give them strength and to grow their love of all, greater. Date: Sun, 18 May 2014 06:00:03 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • jaklumen
            May 18, 2014 @ 14:21:05

            Yes, exactly, Toni-san, you get it. And I see that you are very well-read on the context; this is more or less how it was taught to me. I have felt such love and serenity from the Divine several times growing up, especially feeling such a personally caring and patient response from my Master when I was working on recovery and counseling with Him as our leaders had taught. It’s been therefore very difficult for me to be angry at God; even though friends and family explained to me their struggle with such. My father certainly was, having been so near to death as a teenager and then coming almost as close only a handful of years ago. I didn’t know how to explain to any of them why I was much angrier at humanity, which had smashed my trust so many times, and why I didn’t feel such a way towards God, who I knew to have a more perfect empathy.

            Although I was upset at my therapist for the way that she said it, we did accomplish a lot of good work (albeit very painful) on overcoming the damage with my trauma, what I now understand to be cPTSD. Our work had to end when she needed to care for an aging parent– I’m not sure if it was a complete retirement, or what, but having seen this with my father’s parents (and now my mother’s), I was not upset about that.

            Thank you again, Toni-san, I am deeply honored and blessed by the time you have taken to listen and to thoughtfully respond to my comments.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              May 18, 2014 @ 18:01:41

              Excellent. And you were so kind to understand about your therapist. We go through things in our own way at our own pace. My best friend is fearless, a crap or get off the pot kind of person. She just plows on ahead while I seem to take more time to work. And the thing about my two fragile teens, they do not blame God for what happened. They place the blame on sin and that as long as there is sin in the world, crap happens. Such wiseness from these two. I am awed by their gentle understanding of such profound theology that many wise learned scholars have trouble with. They don’t make excuses, they they accept evil was done to them and they move ahead with healing. they know of no other way. I am often chided by their sweetness and innocence and lack of anger, their unfailing trust in God and their faith. They are more of a blessing to me than I think I will ever be to them. My teen class consists of all Asian kids – Cambodian, Thai, Japanese. I am not a mother, but they look to me as such and talk to me, trust me, ask me questions. I cannot tell you how seriously I take my responsibility to them. I learn from them as much as they learn from me. A couple are orphans of the storm, most come from your average Asian-American families. I am proud of my kids and enjoy planning activities to not only enhance their heritage, but also fun teen stuff. I’ve taught them to make sushi, udon, fried chicken, green tea ice cream…they all love cooking and I have classes for them. We fly kites, play putt-putt. They have helped me heal these past few months. I am grateful to God that He sent me to this work and He sent these children to me. Date: Sun, 18 May 2014 18:21:06 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

              Reply

  2. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 20, 2014 @ 05:29:08

    There’s no excuse for abusing children, the elderly and animals. They don’t have a way to fight back. It breaks my heart each time I see anyone or anything abused by an individual just for the heck of whatever feeds their sick mind.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 20, 2014 @ 12:26:04

      I try tp be non-judgemental and to have a merciful attitude, but when it comes to those who harm those who are helpless, i would wish for 1000 times the abuse they did to be visited upon them. No mercy for them.

      Reply

  3. Maurice A. Barry
    May 24, 2014 @ 08:41:14

    I believe that is a very true statement. Time and time again it has proven to be true–and still is today.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

