Mowing the Lawn – Memorial Day

  “You can count the seeds in an apple, but you can’t count the apples in a seed”. Karen Jensen

I love to mow my yard. I know exactly what is ahead and what has to be accomplished. I can see progress being made with each row that is cut. I know when the job is finished. I take pride in the manicured lawn and the smell of freshly cut grass is soothing. It is also a great time to reflect – no cell phones or text messages can be heard. The rhythmic walking and meditating inside my head calms and soothes me.

There are many of us faced with tasks that never seem to be done or that make any sense. We all have our personal “lawn to mow”.  As we live our lives, we are often unaware of how we touch others – how our kindness inspires, heartens, strengthens, teaches. We often have no idea of how the seeds we sow will grow and the fruit it will bear – for how long or the yield.

This Memorial Day, remember those vets who have given their lives, blood, limbs, sweat, tears – those who have sown seeds of freedom for us. Let us yield in return, a giving heart, a nurturing spirit. Let us in turn sow these seeds of freedom, responsibility, honesty, courtesy, kindness….who knows how many apples will be in the single seed we sow?  Only God can know….and the person in whom you sewed that seed.

Blessings to all of you.  Thank you for the seeds you have sewn in me.

appletree

Photo courtesy of Wiki Free Images

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Line
    May 22, 2014 @ 21:59:53

    I love mowing lawns too! But for an entirely different reason. My granny once asked my to mow her lawn, and she has a big lawn, and I enjoyed mowing all kind of different patterns into the lawn. It was a lot of fun! ;.) I don’t know if my granny was so happy about the result because she never asked me to mow again, but I had a wonderful time! Being Norwegian I don’t know anything about Memorial day, but I could feel that it means a lot to you! I liked what you said about a giving heart and a nurturing spirit 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 22, 2014 @ 22:04:26

      In the US, Memorial used to be called Decoration Day. You would go, with your family and friends to the family plot in the graveyard and clean the plot(s), put on fresh flowers. Used to be, folks would have picnic and remember loved ones – children played about and you met up with folks you only saw during this time. It has since become a time of recognition for those who serve or served in the Armed Forces – to honor their sacrifice so that we may have freedom. I tried the old mowing the lawn in designs as a kid to get out of it, but it didn’t work. My father, who was a veteran, taught me the value of a job well done and the peace obtained by oneself while mowing.

      Reply

      • Line
        May 22, 2014 @ 22:10:11

        Thank you for teaching me about Memorial Day! I don’t think we have a similar Day in Norway, the closest would be All Saints Day, which is in Norway, a day we light candles on the graves of loved ones and remember them. In ancient times that day was a day when all the witches would come out and ride their broomsticks, so people were very careful not to go out at night on that day. But that day is for all the loved ones who have passed, not especially the war veterans. I think when it comes to remembering the second world war, we only have Liberation Day, we celebrate, at least remember, the day Norway was free from Germany.

        Reply

  2. FlaHam
    May 22, 2014 @ 22:38:43

    Kanzen, I served during a time when it wasn’t popular to serve, I serve when our service people were being spit on by hateful folks who didn’t agree with our politicans, but took that fear, and misunderstanding out on our service personal. Thank God times have changed and our kids serving today are shown the respect they deserve, and that same respect is being shared with those that served before. Memorial Day is a day for all vets not just from the popular wars. It is wonderful to see all Vets are being respected. Thank you for the wonderful post, and your friendship. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 22, 2014 @ 23:31:42

    I took great pride and enjoyment in moving my lawn before I moved in with the kids.
    We don’t have Memorial Day here but I am aghast the soldiers who return don’t receive the treatment they are entitled to. I can only speak about my country.

    Reply

  4. drapersmeadow4
    May 23, 2014 @ 10:11:25

    What a wonderful piece! I too love to mow the lawn or play in the garden – they are both meditative moments away from a noisy world. This weekend I will reflect on your thoughtful post. Be well. ~Karen~

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2014 @ 14:06:57

      Thank you so much for your comment! I think that is why I like sitting and picking clover blossoms or daisies and making a necklace or crown from them. Nice peaceful, quiet thing to do that requires little thought but much calm and a way to just remove oneself from the world and into another place. Blessings! Date: Fri, 23 May 2014 14:11:28 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  5. Clowie
    May 23, 2014 @ 11:09:51

    It’s so true that we usually don’t know what happens to the seeds we sow. Sometimes something that someone said years ago will cross my mind and I wonder if they even remember.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2014 @ 14:05:06

      I know. sometimes we know right away or soon if the seed sprouted and took root and bloomed. Sometimes we never know. But regardless, we still need to sow the seed. If we don’t sow it, it will never have a chance to grow and make more seeds. Date: Fri, 23 May 2014 15:09:54 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  6. jaklumen
    May 23, 2014 @ 11:42:57

    Mowing the Law? Ohhh, mowing the lawn. I was going to do that (mow the front lawn, that is) this morning, but I accidentally flooded our crawlspace, and the grass is still wet, so I’ll wait until maybe tonight.

    Cimmy asked me today if I would like to join the sisters in putting flags on gravesites Saturday, since the Fathers & Sons campout is once again in a location I can’t do because of the pain, and I said I would.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2014 @ 13:52:22

      flags is a good thing. the boy scouts do it around this area in all the military cemetaries. I’m riding down tomorrow to put flags on my father and grandfather’s graves. maybe you and your son could do a backyard campout or go to a site that is easy to get to. you and him and leave Cimmy and Princess by themselves. Date: Fri, 23 May 2014 15:42:58 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  7. kanzensakura
    May 23, 2014 @ 14:10:43

    We used to backyard camp all the time. Most of the time, we just threw a tarpaulin over the closeline and pulled out and anchored with bricks or cement blocks. another tarpaulin was the ground cover. We’d tell ghost stories and make faces using our flashlights. I’d use a hoe or a tomato stake for the pole. I used to wildnerness hike and camp in my salad days. nowadays, I think most folks cheat and use campers.

    Reply

  8. SirenaTales
    May 23, 2014 @ 14:43:22

    Lovely and inspiring. You are a woman of so many talents! Lawn mowing, too? Wow. Hope you have a peaceful weekend, my friend, with some time off from the books. xoxo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2014 @ 17:41:17

      I hope you have a peaceful weekend with some dancing in a nice bunch of white clover blossoms and daisies. And being with friends and family. Lawn mowing is easy and it is good exercise. You just push the mower in front of you and move forward, then turn the mower and head back and beside the part you just mowed. Back and forth. Some folks get fancy. I just do it quick and easy, get inside my head and into a groove. It,s fun. If one has a catcher on the back, stop and empty it a few times. Some water stops…i do it early in the day or early evening when there is still light because i am senstive to sun. Hubster and I are having a small cookout. I,m not looking at books until Tuesdsy!!! 🙂

      Reply

      • SirenaTales
        May 23, 2014 @ 17:51:30

        Thank you for all of that….and yayaya for a book break! xo

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 23, 2014 @ 21:33:17

          no more homework, no more books – o more teacher’s dirty looks…LOL And one day, I will get another computer. posting with a tablet is the pits….bt I think I’ll do some recipes for Memorial Day to start of the summer. Myabe if I don’t get tired of tapping that stylus. I feel like the Gene Kelly of WordPress – tap tap tappiity tap…

          Reply

  9. huntmode
    May 25, 2014 @ 20:34:19

    Reblogged this on Chasing Rabbit Holes and commented:
    Ah, Kanzen, you sooth the heart, as always.

    Reply

  10. Mustang.Koji
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 01:04:51

    If you love mowing the lawn that much, please feel free to do the same here. 😇

    Yes, we all have our special lawns to mow but as you say, there are many who can no longer now their lawn. I am grateful for their sacrifices for our country and us.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

