Mama’s Favorite Fruit Salad

And now, brought to you by way of tablet and stylus, and just in time for Memorial Day cookouts and events: My mother Celia’s favorite fruit salad. It is quick, easy, and better the next day.  No measuring – one of those add more of this if you like this and less of this if you like something else better.  The pineapple juice adds a nice flavor and keeps the bananas from turning dark.

Simple, naturally sweet, pretty and cool.  In the upcoming heat, cool and simple are the operative words.  I have been known to eat this for my supper as well as my breakfast.  With strawberries at the peak of their season, this is a scrumptious eat.  Let the flavors blend for a couple of hours.  Enjoy!  The picture is from Pin Interest.  It shows one option for serving.  We just put in a bowl and serve, but for Memorial Day or July 4, this is nice.

Mama’s Favorite Fruit Salad
1 qt. strawberries, washed, hulled and halved or quartered
2 – 4 bananas, depending on size
1 large can pineapple chunks or tidbits in their juice
***Optional: pint of washed blueberries. sliced kiwi, watermelon (if eaten the same day)

Depending on size of berries, halve or quarter. Cut bananas into 1/2 inch chunks. Place in large non-reactive bowl and add pineapple chunks and juice. Toss gently to coat bananas well with the pineapple juice. Chill. Eat. Done!

d8d09f6fbc4f8b68baee66f87ce401a5

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bernice
    May 24, 2014 @ 10:47:01

    Looks fresh, healthy, and delish!!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 24, 2014 @ 10:50:31

      It is. I’m going to a picnic Monday and so I think I’ll pull out of the bowl and arrange like the picture to make it more festive. A friend of mine adds the non-sweetened grated fresh coconut you can find in the frozen food area with the frozen fruits.

      Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 24, 2014 @ 10:56:07

    Love fruit salad anytime. So, now I know what to do to the bananas to keep them from turning. Outstanding. Can’t wait to tell my son-in-law as he makes fruit salad a lot as well.
    🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 24, 2014 @ 11:01:28

      when mama gets puckish, this always gets her going again. it is idiot proof. I like that in a recipe.

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        May 24, 2014 @ 13:19:56

        I like that in a recipe too. I am more over the moon because I can stop the bananas from looking disgusting. 😀

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 24, 2014 @ 15:37:42

          Cool!!!! Now, the strawberries may exude some pink and tint the pineapple chunks some, but that’s just festive. I picked up about the pineapple juice ages ago when I was interning as a chef. The caterer I was working for made these cute little fruit kabobs and would chunk the bananas and put into pineapple juice to flavor and keep from yucking before she made the kabobs. I fixed them for our wedding reception. Date: Sat, 24 May 2014 17:19:56 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

  3. writingwingsforyou
    May 24, 2014 @ 12:00:47

    I have a BBQ tomorrow and I was looking for something simple and light. This is perfect! Thanks.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 24, 2014 @ 14:58:38

      GREAT! This is why I enjoy blogging so much – sharing information and lending a hand. I hope you enjoy. After I let the fruit chill and flavors blend, I’m going to put the various parts into a flag for a cookout I’m going to. Lol, the syawberries may tint the pineapple some, but that just makes it festive.

      Reply

  4. FlaHam
    May 24, 2014 @ 16:17:05

    Kanzen, Sometimes I just want to say stop stop stop, I swear reading your recipes causes me to gain weight, but I love it so please don’t stop. I guess stirring this before serving would be a bad thing. LOL LOL. Please take care, Bill

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

