Super Summer Salad Saturday

Hot weather is upon us. I posted this last July and am bringing back in time for Memorial Day picnics and the lazy hazy days of summer.

kanzen sakura

Summer – how hot is it? It is so hot trees are running around looking for shade; the hens are laying hard cooked eggs, the melt time for a Popsicle is 20 seconds…

With this in mind, at this time of year, I cook as little as possible.  Salads, sammies, smoothies – you name it. In the South, we love our cold plates: tuna or chicken salad with sides of pickled beets, tater salad, coleslaw, bean salad, macaroni salad, sliced fresh from the garden tangy tomatoes – I keep bowls of layered salad, chicken salad, five cup salad, marinated veggies (see blog on Quickles) all through the summer.

A lifesaver to me this time of year is my eight quart stainless steel Presto pressure cooker. I grew up with these being used and have no fear of them. I respect them and know how to treat them and in return…

View original post 629 more words

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pratibha
    May 24, 2014 @ 11:30:37

    Oh I remember thinking hack in memory…. Those were the days. Lazing in the shade of the summer breeze,near a river rafting site and enjoying cool watermelon and chutney sandwiches while some f us found swings and other enjoyed a beautiful book under the shade. Except the shore is a real nono for me soooo much trafic. Thanks But I’ll pass. Happy memorial day…

    Reply

  2. Pratibha
    May 24, 2014 @ 11:31:59

    pressure cooker is my most favorite…

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

