Poetry for Memorial day. Grandson asked

From a veteran for Memorial Day – John has an excellent site of poetry and musings. Please go visit – and thank him for his service to his country while you are there.

johncoyote

HPNX1058

IMG005

Grandson asked

A Poem by Coyote Poetry

"

Would be a better world if we saw with the eyes of the children.

"

                                    Grandson said
Memorial poetry

I stopped by the nearby location for the Memorial day celebration. There had a flag for every Soldier killed in the new wars.  I took my grandsons with me. This time with each flag was a photo of each soldier and where he was killed.

I found my three friends I served with. I stood by one of my friend photo lost in Iraq and I wanted to fall down with sadness. A older man came up and tapped my shoulder and told me. This is a sad place. I’m a Vietnam Vet from Holly, Michigan. I wanted to show respect to my brothers lost to war. I told him. I have three good friends here and I had to visit them. He saw…

View original post 230 more words

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FlaHam
    May 25, 2014 @ 14:53:08

    Kanzen, I followed your reblog and this is what I left with John, thank you for the direction. Take care, Bill

    John, I came to you via a reblog by Kanzen. This is a beautiful poem, it asks and answers the question and it shares the grief that many feel. But it also takes you to a place of respect, of dignity and of caring. Thank you for your service, your courage, and sharing it with your grandson. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 25, 2014 @ 16:23:57

    Moving poem. My heart is heavy though the words are true.

    Reply

  3. Willy Nilly
    May 26, 2014 @ 12:41:56

    Dearest Kanzen Sakura, My family packed up and left for a day in Nashville because my dear Tiger Mom, knows that absolute silence and moments to reflect are necessary for me on this day. I follow John Coyote and identify strongly with his story. Thank you for your recognition of the sacrifices of those men and women that served in all wars, hoping there would never be another. As you know, I nominated you for a Liebster Award and announced it on my blog. I am a bit behind in my notifications and ask you to forgive my late arrival. I know you may not choose to accept it for a more noble cause of devoting your time to reading and sharing the fine works here and from others. I wanted to nominate you anyway and provide a link to your site where others can choose to visit and find the wonderful things you share so freely. Award or no, you provide that virtual tea house where the magical ritual of tea service, delightful food, and rich conversation is poetry for any tired soul that walks through the door. Thank you for sharing your rich Southern culture and heritage. -Daniel

    Here is the link if anyone desires to know more about this award. Please delete the link if you prefer. http://dwhinson56.wordpress.com/2014/05/25/leaping-liebsters/

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 26, 2014 @ 15:10:29

      I am truly honored and grateful for the award and the reasons you did the award. I used to accept awards but stopped this year. While I will not accept this award, I will make note of it and post the answers to the questions in a blog, as it was something I have been meaning to post about, but heaven help me, I do get distracted. Sometimes, I think a lover of long ago who gave me the name of Misosazai (wren) not for the noble reason he claimed but because sometimes, I am well and truly bird brained. I follow 450+ blogs and enjoy reading them. I noted that so many times, excellent posters did not get awards and this made me sad. I decided instead, to truly read the posts and not just hit the “like” button and move on, but to start making more comments and to reblog a bit more to introduce these folks to a group of bloggers who may not have had knowledge of them. I like being social and friendly and introducing folk to one another. Whether anything comes f it is up to the bloggers. I was heartened when I reblogged two posts this week, one from Sweet Line and the other from John Coyote and the responses to them from folk who follow my blog. That gave me a lot of satisfaction. The comment you made about my blog being a virtual tea house is exactly one of the reasons I blog. Clowie, at Clowie’s Corner gave me the Inner Peace award because she said that is how she feels when she visits. I wanted to hug her neck so very much. So that is why I kept only that one award and post it. it reminds me of my goal and keeps me honest – and encourages me. Your comment encourages me. I speak of seeds sown and the things people tell me or the posts they do are the seeds they sow in me. So I guess the answer is sorta accept, sorta not accept the award which is, as a friend would tell me, rather yin yang, wabi sabi of me, east south of me. I am glad you have the day to yourself. I love Nashville and indeed it is where I received my first BS, in Cultural and Physical Anthropology. I am insatiably curious and never satisfied with the amount of information, education I get. That’s why I enjoy mowing the lawn or going to the beach for a couple of days in January, or when I was younger, taking a week in the desert to be alone alone alone with just me or me and a good reliable horse, to watch meteor showers or just listen to the sounds around me. My bud Aaron, at Mild Musings of a Mediocre Man, is of the same mind. Clowie is a Great Pyrenees and she is dear to me. I realize of course, it is Clowie’s female biped who does the writing, but still, I like just talking to Clowie. And if I have neglected to do so, I thank you for your service to me and this country. And next time you all are feeling adventurous, head to Jasper or Dora and go to Green Top for some bbq. But anway Daniel, I do so thank you for the award. Liebster – love – is what it is all about anyway, isn’t it? Being kind to each other. Thank you most heartily. And yes, please post the link! I do appreciate that. It’s sort of like a general re-blog. Blessings to you and yours. Date: Mon, 26 May 2014 16:41:59 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

      • Willy Nilly
        May 26, 2014 @ 15:42:37

        Thank you 🙂 I understand the intent of such awards but sometimes it would be nice to give a special recognition and not ask that anything be done but receive it. Actually, I think the greatest award/reward is what you just did with this comment. We connect, share, learn, laugh, cry and become fast friends all right here in these little boxes of words. Blog on Sister! I’ll be out here wandering around willy-nilly and you will see me often.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 26, 2014 @ 16:11:05

          I totally agree with you. Thither and And Yon will be wandering as well. I saw on a post where the person listed the awards and the badges for them, then told those who followed his blog and read them, to pick 4, their choice and to only say thank you in a post. I liked that, so when I made the decision about awards, I had like a fire sale with them. I found people liked that because in my mind, they deserved all of them, but wanted them to pick what felt right for them. I told them didn’t have to pass on, although that would be nice, they didn’t have to answer or ask questions (although I did want to ask them if they had danced with the devil in the pale moonlight and if so, what dance and to what song). Just take them and be blessed. I had several people be downright huffy about being given an award (you’re welcome, bless your heart) and their reason were equaly ugly – they felt it was like a social medium (??) or they preferred quality to quantity (as if the award had anything to do with the quality of their post, or just plain old, didn’t you read my about page? then why did you give me an award? Well….that put a definite bad taste in my mouth. Some people were gracious and merely said, I don’t accept but I thank you and that was fine with me. I then realized, why I really truly blog and sez to myself, communicate more, encourage, share…I like it when folks do get an award though. Makes me proud of them and that someone else recognized a certain quality in their blog. So…all those words. I have obviously had waaaaaaay to much coffee today and it’s time to cut back to lemonade. Take care! Date: Mon, 26 May 2014 19:42:42 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

