Throwback Thursday – Retro Recipe – Ginger-Ale Salad

I had about 800 cookbooks. I have gleaned them out to a more manageable number of 128. One of my favorite things to do is to seek out antique cookbooks. One of my treasures is the cookbook for the Chautauqua Bird, Tree & Garden Club, founded in 1913. It is truly a treasure and what makes it more unique is that it was hand signed by the president of the club: Mrs. Thomas Alva Edison.

The book is handtyped and put together by hand.  The cover is a piece of heavy duty green construction paper!  Contributors include:  Huey Long, Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Mrs. “Lucky Lindy” Lindbergh to name a very few.  The book is recipes from the members, many of them leaders in the social, political, and artistic set of the 1920’s.

Today’s recipe is Ginger-Ale Salad contributed by Mrs. Edison.  It is amazing to look at the various recipes and imagine the luminaries making these recipes!  I think of all the first edition, antique and retro cookbooks I own, this is one of the most interesting, just for that fact in itself.

Of course, the instructions are for that time period.  If anyone is interested, I will be happy to translate this recipe into more modern instruction.  I like to use a local brand, Northern Neck.  It has a strong, pure ginger taste, is not too sweet, delightfully bubbly, and has a crisp finish.  You can use the brand you prefer.

Ginger-Ale Salad
4 tbs. gelatin (unflavored Knox)
4 tbs. cold water
1 pint bottle ginger-ale
Maraschino Cherries
preserved/candied ginger

Soak gelatine in cold water for twenty minutes. Now add to the gelatine 1/2 cup of boiling ginger-ale. Stir until gelatine is dissolved and then strain. Add the balance of the ginger-ale. Let cool, and then rinse off mould in ice water to thoroughly chill. Then coat the mould with the gelatine by pouring in about 1/4 cup and turning the mould until it is thoroughly coated. Now place pieces of preserved ginger in designs in the bottom of the mould, also using a few maraschino cherries. Pour a little gelatine over this, chill, and then when firm pour in sufficient gelatine to form a layer. Repeat this until the mould is filled. In warm weather pack the mould in salt and ice mixture for quick results.

 

 

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 29, 2014 @ 13:37:19

    Honest? This is n.e.w. to me. Huh. Maybe I’ll try it. 😀

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 29, 2014 @ 14:14:34

      Honest. It was not a new recipe then either. Became popular with that amazing new appliance for housekeeping: the ice box. I think the first version of this came about 1914…this one is from 1925. Date: Thu, 29 May 2014 17:37:20 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 29, 2014 @ 14:21:53

      Really truly. the recipe began its life when that most marvelous of kitchen appliances came to be in kitchens: the ice box. the original was about 1917 this version is from 1925. If you don’t care for ginger, don’t try this. Of course, you can leave out the candied ginger and use pineapple chunks instead. Use the current package instructions for unflavored gelatin but use ginger ale instead of water. My grandmother frequently used ginger ale instead of water for molded salads. Very refreshing.

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        May 29, 2014 @ 17:15:24

        I’m falling all over myself.
        I wonder…as an aside…there used to be a recipe for Jello, instead of cold water portion you added milk. I loved it. Now back to Jello, jello, instead of cold water, can you imagine ginger ale instead? Would that work?
        Give jello a little zing wouldn’t it?

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          May 29, 2014 @ 17:30:24

          My grandmother did that as well as do I. I like the lemon with the ginger ale and the cherry. Use the ginger ale for the cold water ad you have zip and bubbles!!!! Happy Jello!!!!! and you can use sugar free versions of both. Date: Thu, 29 May 2014 21:15:28 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            May 29, 2014 @ 19:38:25

            Just what I wanted to hear. Hate it, but need guaranteed result. Still this is good stuff revisited.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              May 29, 2014 @ 19:49:59

              Some of the recipes and menus are strange, at least to us now. I find it interesting and the snapshot we get of the times. Just about everybody had “help” of some kind, either live in or daily. Most just provided room and board. And practically everything was made with a white sauce basis.

              Reply

            • kanzensakura
              May 29, 2014 @ 20:18:42

              I hate wasting food and/or time, but sometimes I just jump in and make something. Sometimes, it’s a mess. 😦

              Reply

              • Let's CUT the Crap!
                May 30, 2014 @ 17:55:51

                I’m sure I’ve wrecked a recipe or two but always managed to save it because can’t face throwing out food.

                Reply

                • kanzensakura
                  May 30, 2014 @ 21:00:06

                  I know, but when I see my guy bravely shovelling a dish in, I make him stop and offer something else. He is a good lad.

                  Reply

                  • Let's CUT the Crap!
                    May 31, 2014 @ 13:21:41

                    Ha ha ha. You’re a real sweetie, aren’t you. Aah. ❤

                    Reply

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 31, 2014 @ 14:43:04

                      Not really, but I try. I just can’t stand to see someone try to stuff down simething and you can tell they aren’t enjoying it, but they’re being nice about it. He is such a good guy and will eat what I put in front of him, never complaining. Of coursr, when we had been married a few.months, it seemed like every other meal was, mom didn’t fix like this…his mom is not a good cook. After a couple of weeks, i had had enough. When he said this time, I took the fork out of his hand and said, well, then go home for mom to cook for you, and fix your lunches, and do your laundry. He looked at me, gulped, finished his food and I never heard again how his mom fixed something because we both knew she couldn’t cook worth a darn.

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 31, 2014 @ 17:35:59

                      Ouch. She couldn’t cook and he complained about the GREAT food he was served at home. Shut my mouth before I holler. 🙂

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 31, 2014 @ 18:29:06

                      He h.a.t.e.d. asparagus because he said it was mushy and tasted like crap under campble cheddar cheese soup. After a vary long hard day, I stopped by a local grocery chain that makes marvelous to go food and purchased a roterriserie chicken, some of their rosemary roasted potatoes, and a pound of fresh asparagus. I had a couple of years earlier purched a microwave steamer from Tupperware and that’s what I used to fix my asparagus. Well, after a light drizzle with some butter and lemon juice, he looked at it and said he’d try it. I had to fight him for it. He discovered he l.o.v.e.d asparagus. A few nights later, she had called and asked what we had had for dinner and I told her. She says, he hates asparagus! I said no, he loves mine…ouch. they ate all their veggies cooked beyond mush with no flavor and things like broccoli and asparagus always had the Campbell’s cheddar cheese soup as a sauce for it. yuck. Date: Sat, 31 May 2014 21:36:01 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      May 31, 2014 @ 18:40:27

                      I saw that immediately. I’ve heard stories about new wives and mothers-in-law. I sigh.

                    • kanzensakura
                      May 31, 2014 @ 21:15:20

                      It was subtle on her part. But I think the asparagus settled it. she’d say, he never would eat vegetables. of course, her thing was sandwiches, sandwiches, sandwiches – cheap, easy, and didn’t mess her kitchen up. She’d send the boys to their bedrooms before their dad came home (a banking executive). they would have had hot dogs or bologna sandwiches or hamburgers. she’d fix chops and such for the dad. Their big meal was sunday night – pizza or pastrami sandwiches. Yuck. When we married, he learned there would be salads, vegetables – real food instead of what in our family, we called trash food. She just didn’t want to mess her kitchen or spend the money. The first time I had them for Sunday dinner, Brad’s father almost flipped – fried chicken, veggies, real mashed potatoes, biscuits, real dessert – he said it was like his mother cooked and I was as good a cook as she was. Mother-in-law just about flipped. Date: Sat, 31 May 2014 22:40:29 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 13:35:10

                      Ha ha. Love flipping people out. Ha ha.
                      My sister in Vancouver is vegetarian and her husband eats what she cooks (a fabulous cook but vegetarian). When they came to visit at my mom’s house once (another fab cook), he couldn’t help himself and almost swoon. “Aah, meat.” For company my mom would have three different kinds.

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 13:51:48

                      I love it. My middle aunt’s husband will eat chicken and fish but no red meat. However, about once a month, she fixes meatloaf, which he loves. She tells him it is ground chicken with Kitchen Bouquet in it to give it the color..LOLOLOLOL. My youngest aunt, (mama’s baby sister) is vegetarian. but once in a blue moon, she will pig out on pot roast….another LOLOLOL. she will eat sometimes, tuna salad the middle aunt makes or a piece of baked fish (ugh). Yesterday I made homemade fresh strawberry ice cream and took over to her place for her and Brad’s younger brother to share. In true Virginia fashion, all ice cream is made with a cooked custard base which means, all you taste is custard and not the fruit….for someone who thinks custard is the only way, she and brother ate most of the freezer between themselves. Brad and I had a huge laugh but glad they enjoyed. We eneded up not eating dinner as the ice cream was enough – full cream and lots of berries. yummy.

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:43:54

                      Ha ha ha ha ha.
                      What stories food tell about us and the stories we tell about food. 😀

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 16:09:18

                      😉

                      Date: Mon, 2 Jun 2014 18:43:55 +0000
                      To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 23:29:26

                      😀

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 01, 2014 @ 15:19:49

                      I bet you are a good mother-in-law. My mother is as well.

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:14:14

                      I have to be a good mother-in-law. I live with my daughter and her husband. It’s also not easy to be me, the lovable, kind-hearted, person who doesn’t know anything.

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:25:25

                      LOL…you and my mother both when she lived with us. She said she was all three monkeys in one person: see no clutter, hear no arguments, speak no opinions….

                    • Let's CUT the Crap!
                      Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:48:05

                      I like the way you put that because that’s exactly right: all three monkeys. 🙂

  2. FlaHam
    May 29, 2014 @ 15:47:21

    Kanzen, That sounds wonderful, Thanks, Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 29, 2014 @ 16:43:10

      It’s an odd recipe Bill. my grandmother used to use ginger ale a lot in congealed salads instead of water so in her honor, and because she loved ginger so, I decided to post this recipe from that book. Adding ginger ale for the cold water adds sparkle and little bite. I have made this with lemon jello, maraschino cherries, pineapple chunks, and ginger ale for the modern version. You can use sugar free soda and jello which helps cut down on sugar and calories. Now, how’s that for healthier? 🙂

      Reply

  3. M-R
    May 29, 2014 @ 18:06:57

    OK … got that … now tell me what the devil you’d DO with it ?! [grin]

    Reply

  4. kanzensakura
    May 29, 2014 @ 18:55:46

    Eat it or out in lots and lots of ginger and take to a church dinner, sit back and observe all the folk spluttering or fanning themselves…it looks very innocent but wit much ginger, it is lethal. A little bit is interesting. Back then it was very avant garde.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

