Haiku: 夏の夜明けNatsu no yoake Summer Dawn

summer dawn begins –
fire glows – dark hills sleep – silence
then awakening

fuji dawn

Mt. Fuji Japan Board of Tourism

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Line
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 00:15:39

    Oh, I love this poem!! It is so soothing and peaceful 🙂 It makes me dream! 🙂

    Reply

  2. huntmode
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 00:24:53

    This is a good one, Kanzen.

    When it showed in my email, soft smile, your note re the photo read as part of your haiku, so, of course I had to come and see for myself. This is what it looked like:

    summer dawn begins.
    fire glows, dark hills sleep – silence
    then awakening.
    Mt. Fuji Japan Board of Tourism:

    And I thought to myself, “Didn’t Kanzen say something about the rules of Haiku having a certain number words, a certain number of lines? This just doesn’t look right… better go see.”

    Reply

    • huntmode
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 00:26:24

      Sometime later. I’ve read and reread this one and it grows on me each time. Coupled with that photo, it gains power.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 00:51:35

      Oh my, that does read oddly! I can see how that would confuse. I follow the classical rules very strictly. I almost called this “natsu no hakime” summer dawn…..but decided to keep it all in English as I was not sure if I should use the kanji for dawn or for sunrise….Haiku must have a kigo (season word) In the first line, then a “cutting” showing the difference between two different ideas, scenes – summer dawn begins. (kigo and one scene) fire glows, dark hills sleep – silence (cutting word), then awakening (2nd scene) I actually was thinking of years ago, right at dawn in Shizuoka prefecture, standing on a hill overlooking outskirts of the city looking down. Fuji in the west, hills rolling and dark, glow of orange above the hills. Air pure and still as it is in summer at dawn. Looking down at the houses below, a few lights popping on, no cars on the road, bridge empty, Shizuoka cemetery to my left, thinking of people awakening, tousled hair, sleepy eyes, making tea, taking showers, getting their natto and rice ready for breakfast before starting off to the busy of the day. In my head I was singing to myself, Only Living Boy in New York…perfect for the time.

      Date: Mon, 2 Jun 2014 04:24:53 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  3. smilecalm
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 00:49:23

    gently brings me back
    atop mt fuji with sunset layered clouds 🙂

    Reply

  4. macjam47
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 04:29:13

    Very beautiful.

    Reply

  5. FlaHam
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 06:09:49

    Kanzen, WOW — Bill

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 08:36:01

    The stunning picture adds to the fresh and pristine feel of this poem. Aah. ❤

    Reply

  7. Mustang.Koji
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 11:13:01

    Somebody has Japan on their mind…and heart. ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 11:52:32

      Practically all my life…At 11 I saw Hokusai’s Great Wave and was hooked. My partner for 13 years was a Japanese forensic pathologist. He went back to Japan and for various reasons, I did not go with him. So….there ya go. I have written about it though to sort of … settle those ghosts. You’l find those adventures on my blog, the Samurai and the Wren, parts 1-5. I met my husband about 7 years after and now it is happily ever after!

      Date: Mon, 2 Jun 2014 15:13:01 +0000
      To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  8. belsbror
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 21:48:16

    Breathtaking view!

    Reply

  9. John Thomas Dodds
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 14:49:35

    so calm and serene one forgets about the day to come

    Reply

  10. John Thomas Dodds
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 16:22:23

    I had to come back to this for in the summer of 1966 I back packed through Japan and traversed around Mount Fuji – one of those memories you store away until one day a poem comes along and you remember.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 22, 2014 @ 17:06:18

      I am so glad you returned! I don’t know if you read any of the comments I made in return to others.but a morning came that was so similar to one years ago, it brought to mind the feeling the memory behind this haiku. I was in Shizuoka. One morning I awoke super early and was standing on a hill, looking down on part of the town and looking beyond to the sunset that was just starting, Fuji in the distance. It was so silent and still and lights were just starting to appear in the homes below. Japan is truly magical, isn’t it? Sometimes, you open your eyes and you are transported back to a time when Japan was young. Date: Sun, 22 Jun 2014 20:22:26 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  11. charlypriest
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 07:36:18

    Very very nice. The words seemed to paint the picture.

    Reply

  12. Zara
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 20:03:30

    ‘Silence..then awakening’….ah…beautiful! reminds me of a mystic deep in seclusion…perhaps residing near the mountain;)

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

