Matant Livia’s Baked Eggplant

Again, a good recipe making use of summer’s garden bounty. This is good for a nice vegetarian or Meatless Monday Meal. Enjoy with sweet iced tea or a red wine. This is one of the first recipes I posted.

kanzen sakura

Creole and Cajun foods are sooooo good.  Different, but kinda sorta similar.  I spent a year in Nawlins..New Orleans to those who don’t know what Nawlins is.  I visited various parishes as well.  I collected many wonderful recipes and how-to’s while there.  All of them are “Take this, do that, add this….”  Most of them begin with “First you make a roux.”   If you are an inexperienced cook and not sure about amounts or methods, you’d best leave Cajun and Creole food alone.  I would suggest though, you learn how to cook without a recipe.   Make it individual, make it with joy, and like all good Southern food, make it with lots of love!

Eggplant – depends on size and how many you want to feed
The Holy Trinity – onion, bell pepper, celery, chopped finely
Fresh parsley, chopped
Grated parmesan cheese
Chopped tomato (fresh summer tomatoes are alway best for everything!)
Worcestershire…

View original post 239 more words

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Vincent
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 17:19:12

    Sounds wonderful!

    Reply

  2. M-R
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 18:38:50

    Nice to have it all there in front of me today ! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 03, 2014 @ 20:09:01

      Good. You can taste this after mixed together to see if you want to add more salt, some garlic, more onion, hot sauce, cheese….

      Reply

      • M-R
        Jun 03, 2014 @ 20:12:10

        I’m off to have a shower and get dressed, then venture forth to do some shopping … It’s a matter of what I can find that I need, here. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 03, 2014 @ 20:28:30

          That is often the case. I frequently have to made adjustments in things I fix because of what I don’t have on hand vs. how far I am willing to drive (like across town) for something special. I get lazy.

          Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

