Summer has arrived

A lovely example of what a classical haiku should be! I always enjoy these posts because he is such a talented writer.

AshiAkira's Blog

Summer has arrived

Sidewalk full of parasols

Flowers alongside

View original post

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 15:55:32

    Yes This practically s.i.n.g.s. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 04, 2014 @ 17:36:55

      I’m glad you enjoyed his work as much as i.

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Jun 04, 2014 @ 18:25:15

        I’m not much into poetry, as I may have mentioned before, but I try and there is poetry I GET. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 04, 2014 @ 19:59:01

          I haven’t noticed you not “getting” any poetry. I think many times, we are trained in school to always be looking out for hidden meanings, symbolism, foreshadowing..blah blah blah. And yes there is a lot of stuff in different poems but sometimes, we need just to read for enjoyment – the rhythm and verbiage or for the emotion, like Poe’s The Raven…many times, standard poetry has lots of lines, rhyme scheme, the beauty of the words. Because I enjoy literature so much, I enjoy studying it, the culture of the times, the history of the writer. But that isn’t necessary. People who read simply to enjoy are not inferior in their knowledge. Just as the person who stands at the edge of the ocean and falls in love with the sounds, smells, waves…..and knows squat about the biological system, currents, salinity, animal life….based on the oceanographer who studies in detail is not inferior to the oceanographer. My husband and I will discuss and go on and on about poems or plays or books….but I also read just to enjoy and not do any deeper digging. I like haiku because it is known to the Japanese as and “unfinished” poem – the writer follows rules to convey a season, scene, emotional response in 17 syllables. it is unfinished because they write the poem but the reader “finishes” it by their response to it, the picture they see in their head….good literature does that – it engages you and takes you along with it. I am currently reading a series of books about a private enquiry agent during Victorian times, written from the perspective of his assistant. One doesn’t have to know the history and culture of the times in England. It helps but one doesn’t need to know anything – just read, fall into their world, and enjoy. Good mysteries, good action, excellent observations and some dry humor. I did my own independent study of the culture and history of that time in England but it isn’t necessary just to enjoy. Easy reads but also depth there. Like haiku. Sorry for the lecture. LOL, I think I’ve had too much caffeine. Date: Wed, 4 Jun 2014 22:25:15 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            Jun 04, 2014 @ 21:26:34

            Not a lecture. No, no. I appreciate your attention to detail, which helps ME.I have a preference for Haiku but not necessarily a grasp on it. I DO like the concise grab of a moment. Lots of poetry I do not get but I try to. It frustrates me because I want to be nice. I would rather understand but I do try.

            Reply

        • el34ax7
          Jun 06, 2014 @ 22:53:42

          I hate to butt-in (not really, ’cause here I go!), but I’d like to add a tiny addendum to the litany of great points Mrs. Sakura has made.

          As a ‘poeter,’ I do try to include symbolism and meaning in the poetic feet, rhyme scheme, and meter, but these are devices to convey meaning. Directing the flow of language is all these things are meant to do, not to make poetry inaccessible. If you are able to find meaning, great! If not, that’s great too! Poetry can be for everyone, and a good poet tries to give all the different flavors of readers a little something to chew on.

          Also, a good example of proper usage of poetic devices, in my opinion of course, is similar to the “rhythm section” theory we used in my Jazz Lab: “If the audience notices the rhythm section, they’re doing it wrong!” As a guitar player in said rhythm section, I learned to ‘tone it down’ very quickly. 🙂 You should be able to feel the meaning, the ‘rhythm,’ even if you are not consciously devoting your attention to it. It’s all just “in the music.”

          I try, as I assume do other poeters, to use these devices covertly to steer the reader where I want him or her to go, not to bludgeon the reader with ‘ultra-literary’ snobbery. Haiku are great for this; you just read and imagine. “Being there” is all you need be. 🙂

          Anywho, before I prattle and ramble on further, I hope I didn’t impose.

          AB

          Reply

  2. M-R
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 00:55:16

    Remember my commenting on one you wrote, Kanzen ? I thought it much better.

    Reply

  3. kennymack2
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 18:40:38

    I know I’ve told you that I love everything that I’ve seen from you. But I want to thank you for liking my excerpt from my book reffering to Bill the Nookie Hound and Monica. I really believe that a person has to have almost an out of body experience,via the medium of books before they become ‘addicted’ to the impromptu gifts of spiritual guidance. Cosmic love to you and those who love you.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

