Throwback Thursday: Smooth ‘n Groove

This song always brings back memories of my good friend John and the many nights we sat on his back porch talking until dawn in the sweet Southern summer nights. The tape deck always was loaded with Boz Scaggs or as my friend called him, Mr. Smooth ‘n Groove. I’ve been a back porch/back step sitter for many years. Few things beat being alone out in the night or with a good friend to share talk and silences with.

My friend John succumbed to AIDS back in ’85 after a long and valiant fight. When I hear this song, I think of those many hours we spent talking, being silent, looking at the stars, singing along with Mr. Smooth ‘n Groove. I think of John’s friendship and loyalty, humor, bravery…The annual Jazz Festival here this year is going to feature Boz Scaggs in the lineup. It will be good to be out again in the summer night, groovin’ and swayin’ to Boz. I wish my friend could be with me but I will remember him that night and hold up a lighter in his memory.

I hope you all enjoy this live cut. I have my ticket and can hardly wait.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 15:19:56

    N–i–c–e.
    I haven’t heard this in ages. How could I have? I live and work in silence. 😀

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 05, 2014 @ 16:17:55

      LOL….between the cat talking at me and cds regularly going, I keep it lively. When I saw the lineup for the jazz festival, I immediately pulled out the cd and gave myself to memories and grooving…

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Jun 05, 2014 @ 20:24:22

        Sounds good. I’ve no idea why the past two years I cannot stand jazz or even classical music on when I work–wait–maybe it’s that writing instructor’s doing. She played awful music at high decibels and told us to produce a story. My brain shrank.
        Funny, I hadn’t thought about this till now. I believe I have found the reason for preferring silence lately. Can’t work with distraction. Hmm. *scratches head*

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 05, 2014 @ 20:51:30

          When I was at work, I didn’t want noise. When calculating loads for a bridge span to determine if six lanes would be safe over a period of years or to cut back to four, I wanted no distractions. Some folk need that “white” sort of noise to help them concentrate, but not me. Now that my brain is unfttered with pharmacology, I like something going on. The office was noisy! But bei g home in such quiet is distracting after learning to muffle it out. So some music like this instead of TV I have to listen to or conversation I have to engage in, I find restful without the extreme silence I get lost in.

          Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:43:39

          I always hated it when the teacher would put on some kind of music, start talking and then say, write what this music makes you feel. I’ d put dome something like…contrbed, fake, artificial…several words like that and then add something like…the forgotten plastic Christmas wtesth in the dusty covered box in the attic…my soul. LOL. And they always loved it….Sometimes I read some of these poems today and get that same sense from them,,,contrived!

          Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:56:10

      Well, crank it up some, sometimes 🙂 !!

      Reply

  2. SirenaTales
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 17:56:59

    A lovely reminiscence, with a real classic tune evoking another time. Enjoy your jazz festival–where is it? xo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 05, 2014 @ 19:41:20

      Richmond. It is usually very and various stages are set up around the city depending on the artist and tickets so. We have an island, Brown’s Island, in the middle of the James river. A lot of festivals are held there, including some of the jazz groups.

      Reply

  3. FlaHam
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 22:44:19

    Kanzen, I remember Boz Scaggs quite well, and hear him from time to time on my XM radio. He is indeed quite smooth. It is always nice to have someone like John to share time with, I know you miss him, the friendship, the chats and laughs. Thank you for sharing those memories. Take care, Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:48:46

      Thank you Bill! Sometime I should a post about the time we went trick or treating…him, tall, “the dad”, me, short, ” the kid”….got by with it too, nice bag of goodies. We had fun like that!

      Reply

  4. Maurice A. Barry
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:23:09

    These days you mostly see the people holding up their cellphones. It lacks the spirit and fun of the flames from the lighters; too contrived and artificial for my taste.
    That said, I bet Boz will be great. There’s nothing like listening to seasoned performers as thay make it all look so easy; effortless.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:46:31

      And he is still good and performing actively! I’ll prbably get some of those glo-sticks to hold up and wave. I’ve see the cell phoned with the “flame” app. Not the same at all.

      Reply

  5. M-R
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:34:39

    Love Boz. Music you can never never object to and nearly always get down to.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:53:19

      Yes ma’am, Miss M-R, indeed. He still has it! I think he and Daryl Hall are two of my favorite “seasoned” performers. If you haven’t seen it, Live at Darrryl’s House is an excellent show of him and various artists. There are a lot of segments on YouTube from which to choose. The combinations are good and sometimes young vs. seasoned are eye openers and hip shakers.

      Reply

      • M-R
        Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:55:27

        Love that, too – I was introduced to it by a friend over in Western Australia, about a year back.
        You have taste, Miss Perfect ! 😀

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:11:31

          If you haven’t seen it, pull up Fritz and the Tantrums segment, Moneygrabber. Fritz is a Huge admirer of Daryl’s and he is like a kid at Christmas, singing and having fun. One of my favorites just for the look of delight on his face.

          Reply

  6. kanzensakura
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:19:19

    🙂 :-)!!!

    Reply

  7. kanzensakura
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:22:59

    During one of the segments, the musicians were taking a break and talking. It was remarked they wished old Boz could join them. The rejoinder was the he was too busy on the concert track, booked up for years and too busy to hang just hang around. I’d love to see a segment with him! Daryl Hall is a long time, constant favorite.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

