Changes!!!!

I just made changes to my blog – basically, the colors and background. I think I like it but I am not sure.

Please tell me what you think – Please!!! Any suggestions??? I’m approaching the three year mark on the blogosphere.

I’ve had a lot of changes since last year. So, not being satisfied with surfing on a tsunami wave, so to speak, I’ve decided to tap dance on a tectonic plate or two to make more changes.

Thank you in advance for your input.

hawaii+surfing

Free stock images

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M-R
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 15:47:52

    I believe one makes a big mistake in asking for opinions: as they will never coalesce into one, you’ll end up with several to choose between. I don’t do that any more. [grin]
    But here’s mine anyway: I’m not a fan of backgrounds; and I don’t feel very enthusiastic about mauve and pink together. If you really want a background, choose a plain colour that’s in the tonal range of your header.
    There ! – how irritating is all that ?! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. macjam47
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 15:53:13

    For me your colors work. They are my favorites.

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:30:11

    I don’t dislike this. The colors are easy on the eyes, but because of the header, the changes aren’t that noticeable, or rather are too subtle. I bet if you hadn’t asked, I might have wondered if something is different and then forgotten about it. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:30:55

    Yes! This plain background and changed header work and are fresh.

    Reply

  5. seeker
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:32:38

    The Sakura blossoms definitely complements the name of your blog, The Header with the pink petals and purplish colour are good combination. Take a look at the subsection: they are listed on the right top and as well as left side below your name site. I am not so sure about the background. I see skull bones pattern.

    Reply

  6. kennymack2
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 17:50:53

    When you are in the business of “selling” to the public your product should of course appeal to everyone. But for me I like flash and Pizazz. Nevertheless, I check you out for your content, even though as the years go by I might forget who wrote what, your visuals I can’t ever forget.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 18:19:09

      I prefer things to be less pizazzy and for people to remember content rather than visual. Men usually are more visually oriented. But as far as years going by, sometimes I’m lucky if I remember last week! πŸ™‚ Date: Fri, 6 Jun 2014 21:50:54 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  7. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 17:56:48

    I like the colors a lot. They’re bright and fresh. Make me smile. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. kennymack2
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 18:44:20

    Me too. That was good. I did a HSOL(Happy snort out loud)

    Reply

  9. belsbror
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 21:26:55

    Experiment! You are the creator so you have to satisfy yourself first and foremost. We support your choices. πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend!
    Blessings,
    belsbror

    Reply

  10. el34ax7
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 22:24:57

    Um, your ‘haiku’ tab be broke, yo! Fix it nao! πŸ˜€ And I’m digging the changes; it has that ‘new blog’ smell.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 06, 2014 @ 22:39:30

      I know. It like….obliteraated all the tagged haiku items. I gots to go and manually do them again…waaaaaa but i love that new blog smell. I been driving it all afternoon just to smell it. Got a new Smells Like Teen Spirit pine tree to hang up too. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  11. Clowie
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 09:36:07

    Your photograph tones beautifully with the header section. I like the way the menu bar is done. The plain green is easy on the eye behind the content. It’s easy to read.
    I’d say that’s a hit!

    Reply

  12. FlaHam
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 12:21:57

    Kanzen, I am a guy, therefore any suggestion I make regarding style or color, or anything in this arena would be worthless to you. What is of importance to me is the the ease by which I can comment. And this style is easy for me. But I will say I do like the soft shades of colors, Take care, Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 07, 2014 @ 13:34:53

      Thank you Bill! That is the kind of help I need. I’ve had other people say this was easier on the eye, both the soft colors and style. Thank you very much.

      Reply

  13. jaklumen
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 18:12:26

    I’ve been working with themes and very basic blog design for… about seven years now, or since I was at VOX. So, make of my experience what you will.

    One thing I want to mention is variable width– I don’t know if your theme supports it, but it’s a useful option if you can enable it. What is variable width, then? It adjusts to whatever size screen your audience is looking at your blog with, be it on a desktop, a laptop, or a mobile device. (Most themes in WordPress will give you a preview for each when setting up your theme.) I’m running a resolution of 1024X768, and I have to scroll along the bottom to see your header. Anyone reading at a step down (800X600) will likely have to scroll even more.

    I have a few other thoughts that will keep; this is my primary observation.

    Reply

  14. Edward Hotspur
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 19:26:48

    It has those oriental colors… it totally suits you!

    Reply

  15. Kev
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 10:39:32

    Like the colours…but I do like colours. Although it’s important to make your blog look attractive, for me it’s more important to present ease of readability and comment. I don’t like blog where you have to, LOOK where to make a comment or to find the next blog post even. Yours is nice and easy. Maybe needs a little more in the left column. Some more links and stuff. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 08, 2014 @ 12:38:01

      Thank you! That is most constructive and helpful. I’ll check to see if my theme allows the left stuff you are referring to. I’ve also been checking in the customize part to see if I can make the comment section even more obvious. I like the colors too! like apple or cherry blossoms. did away with the background for a cleaner (I hope) look.

      Reply

      • Kev
        Jun 08, 2014 @ 13:31:17

        It’s looking great and you’re doing great.. keep it up. πŸ™‚

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 08, 2014 @ 13:39:06

          LOL, every time I see a post from you, I think of you singing and playing your guitar. In my head you have become Mr. Moneymaker Shaker…..always makes me smile. and than you for the comment of how the blog looks. I used a menu and nothing connected 😦 So I put back the old menu. Haiku is back in with general poetry, but that’s okay. before it didn’t pull up anything. I’ll work with it more when I get time.

          Reply

          • Kev
            Jun 08, 2014 @ 14:11:19

            lmao. Thank you very much! I am actually working on producing a CD with at least ten tracks. So I have a lot of work to do. There will be a few more vids before that, I’m sure. But, it’s coming along, slowly. πŸ˜€

            You’ll just have to play about with different things until you find what works for you. I’ll check in and see how you’re doing. πŸ˜‰

            Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 08, 2014 @ 13:31:47

      Update: the theme does not allow suggestions as you made them 😦 which was a great suggestion! But I can live with it since the comment thingy isn’t lost in the shuffle.

      Reply

      • Kev
        Jun 08, 2014 @ 14:01:19

        Something you can look for next time. I always preview the schemes before I change and read up on them a bit.

        Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

