Keep-the-Kitchen-Cool Peach Crisp

It isn’t that I am lazy when it comes to cooking during the summer, it is just that I get hot. Even with air conditioning, I get hot. And I can tell you this, when this old girl gets hot, even SamCat the Ripper hides. So during the summer, I prepare foods I can make ahead and serve chilled or room temperature, dishes that are a quick fix, and foods that can be prepared in the refrigerator, toaster oven, on the grill, or quickly cooked in my electric skillet.

But, I also refuse to sacrifice the yummy factor. I am a foodie, a food historian, I love to cook, and to be honest, I love to eat. I also try to be as healthy in my cooking as I can (sometimes that just doesn’t happen). One of my favorite quick fixes that doesn’t taste like a quick fix or healthy (don’t mention that word to your family. It’s our little secret.) is this peach crisp. It’s prepared in a skillet and takes about five minutes. Top with ice cream, whipped topping (I use the low fat version), canned whipped cream (a big ol’ tablespoon of that stuff is 30 measly calories and often times, low fat) or eat as is.

Sweet summer peaches – white or yellow flesh – or nectarines are used for this.  Yowzer y’all, this is good.

Keep-the-Kitchen-Cool-Peach-Crisp
1 tsp. butter
1 large peach, peeled, pitted and thinly sliced
2 tsp. unpacked brown sugar
dash of vanilla
sprinkle of cinnamon and/or nutmeg
1 tbsp. lowfat granola

Melt butter in skillet. Add peach slices; cook, stirring often, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add brown sugar; stir until sugar melts and begins to bubble, about 2 minutes. Scrape peach mixture into a small bowl; top with granola. One Serving. Make as many servings as you need by using the appropriate number of peaches and multiplying ingredients. Use a larger skillet.

peaches

 

 

 

 

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:27:06

    Me, I like the heat. I’m a little cold intolerant. That said, your yummy-looking-avoid-the-heat peach dish sounds heavenly. Also love that photo of your peach cobbler for father’s day. ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 16, 2014 @ 13:46:35

      Thank you so much. And both peach recipes have no nuts or chocolate so a little tad for “puppies” is good treat. My grandmother’s cat, Baby, loved the peach cobbler.

      Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:41:57

    I’m all for easy, hot or cold. I’m cold a lot so I don’t mind using the oven but this is just peachy…um is it okay if I say that? 😮

    Reply

  3. janjoy52
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:51:53

    Yum!!!! Thank you! You have inspired me!

    Reply

  4. FlaHam
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 16:18:33

    Kanzen, Just as quickly as I pushed away from the hummmmus, I wouild be grabbing up 3 or 4 serving of this. WOW taste buds on full alert. Thank you for passing me dessert. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  5. Bernice
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 12:42:12

    I love peaches – this sounds wonderful!!

    Reply

  6. Edward Hotspur
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:40:57

    mmmmm, good stuff.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

