Zinnias: haiku

zinnias: fireworks
explode in green sky dimming
the bright summer sun.

zinnias

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Line
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 13:34:26

    Oh, what a beautiful happy post!! 🙂 This will be my last post before sleeping, so I am so happy that it was such a sweet and lovely one! 🙂 See you tomorrow sweet friend! 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 13:53:54

    A most striking image.
    zinnias: fireworks
    An explosion of color. Stunning haiku. ❤

    Reply

  3. redgladiola
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 13:54:25

    A very beautiful haiku!

    Reply

  4. FlaHam
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 14:37:52

    Kanzen, Yes it does look like a 4th of July explosion of color. What a lovely picture. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  5. forgottenmeadows
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 15:51:10

    o so lovely!

    Reply

  6. macjam47
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 17:38:30

    I love the reference, “dimming the bright summer sun.” Yes, they do!

    Reply

  7. huntmode
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 22:12:19

    Lovely pace and capturing of the senses, Kanzen!

    Reply

  8. el34ax7
    Jun 30, 2014 @ 10:32:09

    Reading up on the history and symbolism of the zinnia (thank you new-found interest in ‘hanakotoba’) made me enjoy this one all the more. The exploding makes me think of many, many colors, like the 4th of July fireworks in Harmon Stadium, and remembering and minding those who I would not see for a long time, some never again.

    Just delightful.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 30, 2014 @ 12:32:04

      Wow…I didn’t even think of that. I need to get back to that more, hanakotoba. And maybe that is why I love zinnias so – loyalty/honor. 4th of July fireworks…..friends, family, freedom….you have added a totally new dimension to my little haiku. Thank you so much for this and for reminding me.

      Reply

      • el34ax7
        Jun 30, 2014 @ 12:55:48

        That’s what took so much work on the tanka “Hanakotoba” that I did on the 22nd. Fitting all those flowers, their meanings, and the colors together to accurately represent the setting sun and love and death and death of love was a challenge. All this because the setting sun at my Aikido class was just gorgeous! And then, to do it all over again in Japanese? Too much work!

        But now, anytime I see a flower, I consider what it’s “saying.” 😀 Stay away from cactus flowers (unless you really mean it!) hehe

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 30, 2014 @ 13:27:21

          Lovely AB, truly. I seem to have lost some of my “Japanese” this past year and I want it back!!! I know the tanka would be too much work, but knowing you, you would be able to do it. How did I miss that tanka? I mean, I know I’ve been studying hard and everything, but to miss that? Goal for July: get my Japanese back on and take my autopilot off. On one of the streets I use as a cut through, is a yard with a bank of prickly pear and they are all blooming. I should take hubbie-san by and say, get the message? LOL

          Reply

  9. kanzensakura
    Jul 03, 2015 @ 12:13:02

    Reblogged this on kanzen sakura and commented:

    HAPPY 4TH OF JULY! wISHING YOU ALL FUN AND SAFE TIMES. GOD BLESS AMERICA AND GOD BLESS US EVERYONE.

    Reply

  10. DELL CLOVER
    Jul 03, 2015 @ 21:04:56

    LOVE the haiku! Happy 4th to you and your family, Toni!

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

