Fireworks – getting ready for 4th of July

 
From our friends across the great pond = a spectacular firesworks display along with a wonderful performance of the end of the 1812 Overture. This work is one of my sentimental favorites. I was in my high school band. I played several different instruments and performed in the marching band, the show band, the baroque ensemble and on this particular piece of music, I got to play the tubular glockenspiels which represents the ringing of the church bells in victory. I had to have a six inch platform built so I can run back and forth and reach the bells with my percussion hammers. It was too much fun beating the heck out of those beautiful tubes of brass and making that sound fill up the auditorium. Of course, a mistake could be easily heard so I rehearsed and rehearsed. Beat the heck out of playing the bassoon during this piece!

But this is an inspiring piece of music and is perfectly paired with celebrations that involve fireworks. I hope this gets you in the mood for 4th of July – We have something wonderful to celebrate! God bless our military – active and veterans. God bless the USA.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 23:41:19

    I love this music. Show us how it’s done, Kansen. Go ahead. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 03, 2014 @ 00:20:13

      Haha. If you are a normal height, you stsnd in the middlr so.you can reach all the tubes and looking at the music, bang om them at the top of the tube. If one is 4’10” one stands in the platform and runs back and forth banging the tubes for all yiu are worth. After the first rehearsal, you have earplygs to wear when it is time. Our orchestra won first place in a state competitiin playing this. Marching band was no. 3 in the state. I played, as needed bassoon, oboe, base ckarinet, flute. There wdre several if us that swutched. Around as needed.

      Reply

  2. seeker
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 02:19:14

    Love this music, perfect for the crackling of the fireworks. One more sleep!

    Reply

  3. FlaHam
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 07:17:00

    Kanzen, I can’t think of more appropriate music for a massive fireworks display. The music and the artisty of the fireworks is masterful. Besides it’s that time of the year let the fireworks rain down. Smiling, thank you so much. Bill

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 03, 2014 @ 09:18:37

      It was my pleasure Bill. I am very sentimental about this piece of music. I was in our school band but it also had an orchestra, marching band, barogue ensemble. I played various instruments in all of them. Our orchestra went to a competition and we played this and got the #1 spot in the state. We had several people like me who played various instruments and we would be moved about as needed. He had moved some to brass but I didn’t play brass so he moved one of the regular drummers to kettles and I got the hanging tubulars to bang on as I had done them before. It was hard work but it was so much fun.

      Reply

  4. macjam47
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 07:51:00

    Beautiful – the music and the fireworks. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Reply

  5. huntmode
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 15:43:29

    You gave me a whole new appreciation of this piece with the vision of you running back and forth striking the tubular glockenspiels! Splendid video. I applauded at the end. Grin.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 05, 2014 @ 19:15:21

      It always makes e want to pump my fists and whoop! It is a stirring piece of music anyway but the end is just resplendent. This is a sentimental favorite of mine. In my senior year, the orchestra part of our band participated in a statewide competition and won first place with this. I tell you, when it was over, I was whipped.

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

