Friday Fun: When I grow up….

I was an avid fan of the British series, The Avengers.  Every Friday night, I was in front of the tube eagerly awaiting the first notes of the opening theme.  And then….Alhough it was The Avengers, to myself, I called it, The Emma Peel Adventure Hour.

I watched in fascination, copying her moves, the way she walked, practicing for hours until I finally was able to do a passable imitation of her woodsmoke and honey voice.  I knew exactly what I wanted to be when I grew up – I wanted to be Emma Peel.

I was on the fencing team in high school and college, I took some martial arts, I practiced that walk that was like an elegant tigress.  Alas, when one is only 4’10”, wears glasses, and is the school geek, it is hard.  But in my dreams, oh in my dreams!

Many things have changed through the years.  But…I still want to be Emma Peel when I grow up!

 

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trini
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 13:18:21

    I have never heard of Emma Peel or The Avengers, but we probably never got that TV-Show in Norway 🙂 While reading the post I saw you in my mind trying to walk like a tiger 🙂 Fun! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 11, 2014 @ 17:23:59

      You can view episodes on YouTube. They were two british agents, debonair, nattily dressed John Steed and lethal elegant Emma Peel. They had a ll sorts of odd adventures and cases. I imagine this series was on either when you were a tiny baby or not even born. She had some moves on her. John “Steed had that dry British humor. It was a fun series but it also had some oddities about it, being British.

      Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 14:05:37

    I personally know that Emma Peel. I enjoyed watching The Avengers as well but I was especially fascinated by the bloke, you know, the natty dresser? Too kool, I thought. 😀

    Reply

  3. M-R
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 22:54:45

    Loved them too, Kanzen. But being roughly eight times your age, I didn’t dream about ’em. And I don’t recall seeing her kiss Steed !!! – good heavens !!! Great fun, that clip.

    Reply

  4. FlaHam
    Jul 12, 2014 @ 07:24:10

    Kanzen, One of the 1st songs that when onto my IPOD was The Kinks, “You Really Got Me.” The show the Avengers wasn’t part of must see TV (except for Ms Peel), but one I watched from time to time. But I suspect you have in fact become your verison of Ms Peel, and I imagine you have done some serious butt kicking in your time. So my dear you did in fact realize your dream.. Congrats are in order. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  5. Mustang.Koji
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 03:35:43

    Perhaps you wanted to be “Emma Peel”… but I wanted to marry her! Really!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

