Easy Peasy Banana Pudding Cake

This is one of those cool, yummy, creamy cakes that are so good in the summer, especially after Sunday dinner, a backyard cookout, or to take to a potluck.  I love banana pudding but I don’t always feel like taking the time to make the pudding (I always use homemade rich pudding for my nanner pudd’n (see post  http://kanzensakura.com/2012/07/25/future-mother-…g-nanner-puddn).

This cake really is easy and it really is good.  You can use sugar free pudding and/or light whipped topping to help save on some calories and fat.

Y’all enjoy!!!!

Easy Banana Pudding Cake
1 box yellow or white cake mix
2 small boxes instant banana flavor pudding
1 8 oz. whipped topping, thawed
2 ½ small bananas
2 or more tbs. orange or lemon juice

Make cake as directed in a 9×13 baking dish and allow to cool. With handle of wooden spoon, poke holes all over cake to bottom of pan. Slice bananas and put into bowl and lightly toss with juice. Make pudding as directed on box. Before pudding sets up, pour all over cake making sure to fill up holes. Place drained bananas all over cake and cover with whipped topping. Cover and allow to chill for about an hour. Cake is best eaten within 24 hours. Bananas may brown overnight, but juice should help stop the browning.  Optional:  Garnish with crushed vanilla wafers and/or fresh banana slices.

banana pudding cake

 

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 18:44:56

    yum!

    Reply

  2. writingwingsforyou
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:10:32

    Yummy yummy is so right! I want to make it now! But alas, no time to go to the store. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:12:26

    I’m having company this weekend. This is PURR-fect. I purr as I read it. 🙂
    Must hunt down instant banana flavor pudding. I m.i.g.h.t have seen them in my time but not sure. I’m definitely in. What timing.<3 Thank you, Kansen. Must be serendipity. 😀

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:18:07

    FYI. The Easy Peasy Banana Pudding Cake link doesn’t like me. 😦

    Reply

  5. Bernice
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:20:25

    These are my favorite types of cakes – I wish I had a slice right now!!

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 19:22:15

    I just thought of something. The banana flavor packs, might they be the instant banana powder you buy and mix with milk to make banana pudding? If so, that ‘s easy. 😀

    Reply

  7. macjam47
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 20:29:30

    And I’ve sworn off desserts! That looks delicious.

    Reply

  8. smilecalm
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 21:01:31

    i went looking in the frig
    and did not find a piece, dang 🙂

    Reply

  9. SirenaTales
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 21:18:52

    Thanks for another enticing dish, Kanzen! xoxo

    Reply

  10. Enchanted Seashells, Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 00:57:02

    YUM is right!

    Reply

  11. M-R
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 02:46:51

    I am going to pretend I never saw this !

    Reply

  12. FlaHam
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 10:44:54

    Kanzen, This dessert looks wonderful, it looks tasty, the texture seems rich, Smiling, but this one I will pass on. Take care, Bill

    Reply

  13. huntmode
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 23:40:48

    Yum! Let’s MAXIMIZE the calories! xxoo HuntMode

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Aug 01, 2014 @ 01:13:23

      You got that right! You can do a variation of this that in this neck of the woods, we call a Pig Pickin’ cake. Add a large can of drained mandarin oranges to the cake batter. After the doing the pudding and banana slices, almost drain a large can of crushed pineapple and spread on top of the nanners. Then spread on the cool whip. it is like crazy good. goes down easy. I suggest after it has chlled, get something really good on the tube, grab the baking dish of cake and a spoon, sit down and go to it. Date: Fri, 1 Aug 2014 03:40:48 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  14. trkingmomoe
    Aug 01, 2014 @ 14:52:34

    Yummy my kind of recipe. I booked marked this to use later. Thanks

    Reply

  15. Trackback: What’s for dinner, Huntie? Banana Pudding Cake with Whip Cream! | Chasing Rabbit Holes

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

